Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-12-2021, 07:18 AM   #1

New RV Owner Question

Hello! I am new at RV Ownership but so far absolutely LOVE IT! I do have a couple of questions that I need your collective expertise. I have to admit my manual and the service group at Camping World were not helpful.

I have a 2019 Forest Rive Forrester Diesel.

Extra information: I was plugged into shore power, my battery switch was set to on. My emergency brake was on. I am using the one control panel to manage all. My generator was off.

1. When I want to extend my slider it is offline until I start the engine. Why is that? The same thing happened when I wanted to extend the awning.

2. I started my generator twice for a very short time (less than one minute). I used the stove to cook breakfast twice. My refrigerator is set to auto (which I understand means it will choose electric first). BUT my propane tank used almost 40% of a 20 lbs tank. What is using so much propane?

Thank you in advance for your help!
Aduffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 07:44 AM   #2

I would take a check on the house batteries for actually being charged. Do you have your WH set to electric? or running on propane.
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 07:48 AM   #3

My monitor says the batteries are charged.

I know this is going to be a stupid question so I’m reluctant to even ask: what is WH?
Old 09-12-2021, 07:58 AM   #4
Casual Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aduffy View Post
My monitor says the batteries are charged.

I know this is going to be a stupid question so I’m reluctant to even ask: what is WH?
Water Heater. Not a stupid question, you said you are new to this, you can't be expected to know all of the acronyms and abbreviations yet.

RV - 2021 Rockwood 2608BS
Ex-tenter is offline   Reply With Quote