Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2018, 09:00 PM   #1

Schwintek motor surprise on Solera 24R

Today we had our first schwintek motor fail on our side slide and we are out on the road in the Outer Banks. I like to be prepared so I have been carrying a spare motor for 2 years. Our 24R uses four motors between the 2 slides and fortunately they are all the same.
I reviewed the motor replacement video on my phone went up on my portable ladder and pulled back the outside slide gasket to expose the retaining screw and found it was a Square drive screw. That driver wasn't part of my on the road tool box!
I found square drive bit at a local ace hardware to use in my socket driver. The motor replacement takes only 5 min once the screw is out. Just wanted to share so others planning to keep a spare motor also check their retaining screw and be ready for removal.
Old 07-01-2018, 04:22 AM   #2

Thanks for the tip! (Pardon the pun).

Guess I need to add both the motor, along with the square drive bit to the tool kit. Along with a water pump, motor controller, inverter, water heater control board, etc. Sure wish Toyota made motorhomes and Denso made components...

Had hoped to drive MH to Alaska this year with the caravan, but driving Tundra next year instead. Don't really trust MB or the stuff riding on the chassis.
KatanaPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 06:11 AM   #3

I took a better look at the failed motor this morning, looks like a water intrusion problem leading to corrosion of the wire harness connections. Looks to be a slide seal problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0059.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	389.7 KB
ID:	177906   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0614.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	583.6 KB
ID:	177907  
Old 07-03-2018, 03:27 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich.M View Post