Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2022, 11:51 PM   #1

Thumbs up Tire Valve Extensions

OK 1st of all I want to apologize for asking so many questions but I'm a total newbie with RV's and trying to learn as much as I can.

I really appreciate the advice and help.

So after getting new tires installed at discount I went to my friend's shop he discovered that 1 of the rear dually's is missing the valve extender.

So I called discount tire and spoke with the guy and when I was dropping off the vehicle he had mentioned that he is not a fan of extenders because they leak.
So when I was talking with him he reminded me of that conversation well I did not think they would forget to put one on or as he said it might have fallen off.

So I call around to the local autozones etc all they have are short extenders that are one and a quarter inches.

But the MB one's also have a clip that attached to the hole in the wheel rim which is a nice feature so where do I get these or any other alternatives.

I did a search on this site and had opinions all over the map so just thought I would ask.

Thanks
azmotoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2022, 07:06 AM   #2

Strongly suggest that you install metal valve stems. Many of us have installed Dually brand stems from Your Tirestop Supply. I think these may be the ones you want:
There are a number of threads here on the topic, like:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ers-83192.html
Call Your Tirestop if you're not certain which stems to get...
Old 09-11-2022, 09:02 AM   #3

I agree with DaveJordon 100%. The front come in two lengths. I recommend getting the longer front stems, especially if you plan on having a TPMS.
Old 09-12-2022, 12:36 PM   #4

Thanks
I'm going with these paying a $160 for valve stem extenders is outrageous to me.

I don't have that kinda dough....