Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2020, 04:00 PM   #1

TrailAir Pin Box / Alternatives

Greetings. I have a new '19 37REL coming to me in a few weeks and it comes with a Trailair Air Ride pin box. The two suggestions I have received regarding the hitch (I don't have a hitch, but its going in a 2020 3500 long box) is to stick with this and add a B&W companion hitch in the factory truck pucks.

Or, trade the Trailair for a MORryde pin box and get a Hensley TS3 or BD5 air-suspenion hitch.

It looks like the latter would provide the best ride, but that the former might also provide a good ride, be cheaper, and would also be much easier to get the hitch in and out of the truck because the air suspension hitch us very heavy.

Any thoughts are suggestions are welcome. I am new to fivers but not towing generally. I have had a TT for years so the hitch part is new to me.
jjackkrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 05:42 PM   #2

Do you have something against the Trail Air box? I have a friend with one he loves. I have a B&W companion with a Moryde that came on our Cardinal. All the Riverstones I’ve seen have the $1,200 flex air box which has good reviews.
Retired JSO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 05:45 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retired JSO View Post
Do you have something against the Trail Air box? I have a friend with one he loves. I have a B&W companion with a Moryde that came on our Cardinal. All the Riverstones I’ve seen have the $1,200 flex air box which has good reviews.
No, I just don't have any experience whatsoever with a fifth wheel hitch at all. I am trying to figure out if the Trail Air and a B&W is a good way to go. I am leaning on starting that way to see how it works for me.
Old 02-17-2020, 06:16 PM   #4