Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-08-2019, 06:41 PM   #1

spare removal

Newbie here. Cut a tire on a curb and tried to remove the spare by inserting the the Ford supplied equipment through what I assume is the access bushing in the coach body but it wouldn’t reach the socket for the lowering cable. Fortunately the tire held pressure. What am I missing?
georgedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 05:42 PM   #2

Access to Spare Lowering Cable

On the 2016 20CB I own, the spare tire lowering port is positioned right behind the right rear dual tires in the chassis rail. Some of the Ford supplied spare tire tools are not for motorhome use, but are for the Transit VAN, so they are useless for our needs.

My lowering tools include three 10" long 1/2" extensions to get past the coach body, 1/2" ratchet handle and appropriate sized socket. The motorhome is under it's winter cover (I'm in NW Minnesota) so I can't tell you (aka: can't recall) what size socket is used.

Are you sure you have a spare? Generally speaking, the spare tire on the 20CB was eliminated due to overall total weight restrictions. I believe that in later years of the 20CB (post 2016 or 2017) the spare tire mounting system was eliminated in the Transit 350HD cut-away chassis production.
VitoNam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 08:06 PM   #3