Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2021, 03:07 PM   #1

Question 2021 Salem 260RTX vs. RT? Looking to purchase

Hello everyone! New to the forums here as I'm looking to purchase my first toy hauler. I'm no newbie to mobile RV systems, as I've been living and working out of Prevost tour busses for years, but would love any and all input.

My first question is what is the difference between a 260RT and a 260RTX in 2021? I've been reading about the acessibelly that may or may not be there. Looking at a barely used unit by a private seller. Things I should check out and be aware of?

Looks like there's lots of discrepancies over FR literature and what actually is in the unit. The floor is more of a subway tile look instead of the more newer herringbone design, which may suggest an earlier build? I don't think the owners have the build sheet.
rackrocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 03:25 PM   #2

Welcome,
260 RT is aluminum corrugated wall skin and RTX has hung fiberglass. Otherwise I don't think there's a difference. I have one of these, they are pretty decent little units but have some issues with build quality like all other brands. Nothing that would keep me away if you have basic RV know how.
Good Luck.
agpopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 05:16 PM   #3