RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 01-07-2021, 11:03 AM   #1

Difference Between Brands--Say Rockwood and Salem?

I am a newbie here who is looking at two trailers: a Rockwood Mini Lite 2205S and a Salem Hemisphere Hyper Lyte 19RBHL.

I have only seen them online since dealers locally don't have them. Just reading the specs, they both seem very similar.

Is one brand suppose to be better/different than the other?

Thanks
Texsinbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 11:21 AM   #2

Rockwood and Flagstaff are better than Salem in many ways.

Bruce
Old 01-07-2021, 11:36 AM   #3

Shop hard!

Prices go all over the place.

There are too many options. Brands are less relevant than in the past. Several big companies have bought them up. Remember the big deal about Chevrolet engines in new Cadillac’s. It is far further along than that.

Quality is now nearing its low of all times.

Keep looking around.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 12:14 PM   #4
Boss Ox & Drovergirl

Hello and welcome.
The answer to your question about brand differences is both yes and no.
A lot of times the differences in brands amount to the differences in some of the details and ammenities. Things such as decor, colors, some quality of components (i.e. plastic sink vs. stainless sink). Of course floor plans, while similar, do have some differences even on comparable models.

look carefully, even if you can't see your exact model at a dealer, look at examples of the brand and that can give you an idea of quality of components and workmanship.
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 12:15 PM   #5
Boss Ox & Drovergirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomad297 View Post
Rockwood and Flagstaff are better than Salem in many ways.

Bruce
Hello Nomad,
I'm curious to know your insights into the differences.
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
Old 01-07-2021, 12:34 PM   #6