Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2019, 07:25 PM   #1

Fresh water operation and drain location

I have been using my 2014 241 QBXL Cruise-Lite for over 18 months and have never used water from the freshwater tank. When opening up the last time at the campsite my wife mistakingly opened the kitchen faucet before I had the "city water" line hooked up. She said there was water coming out of the faucet anyway. I think this was happening because the pump in the freshwater system was operating and pumping the water from the freshwater tank. I was surprised because I had never put water in the freshwater tank.

It dawned on me one of two things were happening, 1) the previous owner used the freshwater tank and never drained it or 2) water was getting into the freshwater tank when using the city water system, making me think the one-way valve (if there is one) was letting water into the tank.

I'm thinking if there is water in the freshwater tank I should drain the tank because 1) it may have been in there for quite a long time and not good to use and/or 2) without knowing it I'm hauling a lot of extra weight.

I'm not sure where and how to drain this tank and I'm also wondering how to check to see if water from the city water system is getting into the freshwater tank, which would indicate a bad one-way valve (if there is one).

Can anyone give me some advice on this?? Thanks!
moshe1436 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 11:46 AM   #2