Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2015, 01:01 PM   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to paleghost1
Need an overview for an upcoming pull.

I'd like some of the older (that reads wiser more experienced travelers ) to look over the numbers, thank you in advance Gents.

I have some towing experience, but not at this weight level. My TV is a 2013 Ram Express, 5.7 with a 3.55 gear set, book payload is 1488lb, book CGRW is 14,150lb, bed liner, Curt class V xd hitch, airlift 1000 bags and a E2 1000/10,000WDH pulls me down to a couple of hundred pounds on the payload. The TV's scaled weights are 5680lb gross, 3280lb on the front axle and 2400lb even on the rear axle, includes full fuel load, DW me and Rugby.

Our TT is a 15' Salem 28 RLDS, I have swapped out the "Ridgeway 205/75/15's" which were load range C with a set of "Carlisle 205/75R15's" load range D (manufacture date on the tires is 33/15) and yes I'll keep everyone posted on the tires, I have also installed a TMPS on the TT.

I have weighed the TV and TT combined, on the TV I now have 6862lb, 3126lb on the front axle and 3726lb on the rear axle, 6320lb on the TT's axles and a CGRW of 13172. Did I weigh the combo wrong ? Is there's a couple of hundred or so pounds missing ?

Seeing that the weight on the front axle is a couple of hundred pounds light I raised the L-brackets 2 holes in a effort to transfer the weight back to the front axle and the TT's axles. I have not reweighed the combo and will not reweigh until we leave for Florida in mid Jan 2016.

A maiden voyage of 1,231 miles one way, should I make an appointment with a head thumper now and save myself the trouble or wait until this goes blamo ? I included a pic of the TV and TT as an attachment.

Thanks Bob, Berta and Rugby.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ram N 28rlds.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	218.5 KB
ID:	96584