Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2017, 08:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
2 satellite in lines

On my 2017 401flx there are 2 satellite in plugs on the outside. I know one goes to the "living" room, but does the other one go to the bedroom?
__________________

dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:29 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcavaiani View Post
On my 2017 401flx there are 2 satellite in plugs on the outside. I know one goes to the "living" room, but does the other one go to the bedroom?
Are you positive that both are for the satellite, and one is not for cable? Something similar to this pic?

__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:41 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
I don't have the same unit but I have Sat1, Sat2, and Cable. I could never get service through Sat1 but Sat2 on mine goes to the living room TV cabinet.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
There's 2 Satellite and 1 Cable
dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
I don't have the same unit but I have Sat1, Sat2, and Cable. I could never get service through Sat1 but Sat2 on mine goes to the living room TV cabinet.
Did you try Sat. 1 in the bedroom ?
dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:57 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
2 satellite in lines

No. I didn't need to. I have one DIRECTV Genie controller on that Sat2 connection behind the living room TV. Then out of my splitter through the antenna coax to the bedroom, I connect the Genie mini to the bedroom TV.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7780.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	134408
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:01 AM   #7
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcavaiani View Post
There's 2 Satellite and 1 Cable
Gotcha, thanks.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:28 AM   #8
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,143
Typically.... Sat 1 goes to the living area and is a homerun. (no splitters)
Sat 2 goes to the bedroom and is a homerun. (no splitters)

Many satellite receiver/dish combinations allow hooking up multiple receivers to the dish from various locations within the rig. The Sat 1 & 2 connections allow this type of operation
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:31 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Typically.... Sat 1 goes to the living area and is a homerun. (no splitters)
Sat 2 goes to the bedroom and is a homerun. (no splitters)

Many satellite receiver/dish combinations allow hooking up multiple receivers to the dish from various locations within the rig. The Sat 1 & 2 connections allow this type of operation
Then I can only assume mine is atypical.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:36 AM   #10
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
Then I can only assume mine is atypical.
atypical or not, if I had two sat inputs, I'd be trying to figure out why one didn't work.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:46 AM   #11
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
2 satellite in lines

I was in a remote campground north of Altus, OK with a new dish antenna and a trailer coax system I didn't understand. I only have 2 TVs and 2 receivers in my trailer. I can see different programs simultaneously on those 2 TVs... so I could not care any less whether I'm using the Sat1 or the Sat2 coax input. Why would I want to debug Sat1 if my system is working to max capability? See my post #6.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:53 AM   #12
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
I was in a remote campground north of Altus, OK with a new dish antenna and a trailer coax system I didn't understand. I only have 2 TVs and 2 receivers in my trailer. I can see different programs simultaneously on those 2 TVs... so I could not care any less whether I'm using the Sat1 or the Sat2 coax input. Why would I want to debug Sat1 if my system is working to max capability? See my post #6.
I didn't say you... I said if I had 2 sat inputs and one didn't work, I'd want to know why.

You are welcome to use your system however you deem fit.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 10:12 AM   #13
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
I didn't say you... I said if I had 2 sat inputs and one didn't work, I'd want to know why.

You are welcome to use your system however you deem fit.
More facts from my newbie set-up experience:
I made about 30 one-at-a-time adjustments including about 3 50 mile round trips for different "enhancements" in coax, etc., plus adjustments to my antenna, permutations to my wiring. When I finally got it to work with independent receivers for the 2 TVs, I left it alone. The possibility exists that I could switch to Sat1 and it would work... but that wouldn't add anything to my system's capabilities/function. I am a recovering perfectionist but, in this case, I don't feel the need to see if other permutations work. 😀
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 10:36 AM   #14
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
More facts from my newbie set-up experience:
I made about 30 one-at-a-time adjustments including about 3 50 mile round trips for different "enhancements" in coax, etc., plus adjustments to my antenna, permutations to my wiring. When I finally got it to work with independent receivers for the 2 TVs, I left it alone. The possibility exists that I could switch to Sat1 and it would work... but that wouldn't add anything to my system's capabilities/function. I am a recovering perfectionist but, in this case, I don't feel the need to see if other permutations work. 😀
You are right Dan, for your situation having the other sat input isn't critical.
Using the Genie/Mini Genie the way you have it configured is perfectly fine using only one Sat input.

However... the OP asked about having two satellite inputs.
Again, if someone wanted to use two conventional, stand alone satellite receivers (not Genie's) in their rig, it would be imperative that both connections work.

Apologies to the OP for the thread drift.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 10:54 AM   #15
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Apologies to the OP for the thread drift.
I also apologize. dcavaiani, are you gleaning any helpful info here?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 40; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 11:01 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Typically.... Sat 1 goes to the living area and is a homerun. (no splitters)
Sat 2 goes to the bedroom and is a homerun. (no splitters)

Many satellite receiver/dish combinations allow hooking up multiple receivers to the dish from various locations within the rig. The Sat 1 & 2 connections allow this type of operation
Awesome, perfect, thank you!
dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 11:12 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
One last question - I have only one long run (100') from a tree mounted dish. I plan to just split the signal right before connecting to Sat1 and Sat2 outside camper. Originally, I now have a just an oval dish and will use that for a few weeks UNTIL I put up the Slimline and then attach the appropriate connectors needed for that signal. Comments?

ACTUALLY, ONE other question: Is the outside tv "out" connection (which is outside the bedroom) capable of getting the directv box signal from the sat2 box which I will have in the bedroom (so I will be able to watch Directv outside as well)?
dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 12:10 PM   #18
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcavaiani View Post
One last question - I have only one long run (100') from a tree mounted dish. I plan to just split the signal right before connecting to Sat1 and Sat2 outside camper. Originally, I now have a just an oval dish and will use that for a few weeks UNTIL I put up the Slimline and then attach the appropriate connectors needed for that signal. Comments?

ACTUALLY, ONE other question: Is the outside tv "out" connection (which is outside the bedroom) capable of getting the directv box signal from the sat2 box which I will have in the bedroom (so I will be able to watch Directv outside as well)?
dcavaiani,
As you can see from our comments there are MANY different ways a satellite receiver/dish can be set up.

And then there's Dish -vs- DirecTV.
Sounds like from your 'Slimline comment, you have DirecTV.

Newer technology such as the one Mr. Dan is using is not dependent on having two sat connections.

Older 'stand alone' receivers HAVE to have separate 'home run' connections from the receiver to the dish. Normal CATV splitters will not work and that's why the 'home run' connection. (home run meaning no splitters)

So... on to your questions... I'm not sure why you'd want to try to split the 100' run of coax at your sat input connectors?
And again, using normal CATV splitters in a sat set-up won't work. You need special power passing splitters.

If you are simply using a standard receiver with the small oval dish, you will hook up the 100' run to one of your sat connections and then hook the receiver to wherever that connection terminates in the rig.

Once you get a slimline dish, providing you are using the same receiver, the connections would be the same. If you want to use that same receiver in another room you would hook the 100' run to the other sat connector and use the receiver wherever that connection terminates in the rig.

If you are wanting to use TWO stand alone receivers, you would have to have TWO 100' runs to the dish and hook both to the sat 1 and sat 2 and then put the receivers at each location where the outside connections terminate.

To further complicate, there are various configurations of satellite dish feedhorn (LNB) electronics (SWM and non SWM) and you'll need to take that into consideration when choosing a Slimline dish.

Unless we would know exactly what you are using, we are simply giving suggestions.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 12:39 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: WI
Posts: 191
I think I am getting it. I cannot connect 2 separate boxes at the same time with just the 1 long run UNTIL I get the SWM LNB and SLimline HD dish all up - along with the power splitter, power adapter, etc.
dcavaiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 12:49 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,645
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Yes.
Two home runs to the dish, no splitters allowed. Each receiver provides switching voltage to the LNB to switch polarity or in my case with Shawdirect between 3 different satellites.
__________________

B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lite, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


×