Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-18-2016, 08:23 PM   #1

first 50 amp rig

Can you run both AC units on a 30 amp hookup if nothing else is on?

Thanks in advance
Old 10-18-2016, 08:29 PM   #2
Site Team

Probably not
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 08:38 PM   #3

I didn't think so. Figured the start up draw would pretty much kill the breaker for both units to run. Thought someone might have tried.

Thank you for the reply.
Old 10-19-2016, 03:18 AM   #4

Being an electrician, I need a better understanding of the problem. Your title says "First 50 amp rig" but you are asking about a 30 amp hookup If you're trying to run 2 A/C's in your 50 amp coach on a 30 amp hookup the probably won't run. Each one draws close to 20 amps each. Add in some low voltage like the park I stay in and you're done.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 05:03 AM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by OzarkPreacher View Post
I didn't think so. Figured the start up draw would pretty much kill the breaker for both units to run. Thought someone might have tried.

Thank you for the reply.
It wouldn't be really recommended to run both on a 30 amp power supply, for the reasons stated previously.

Just a little addendum in case you may not be aware, is that although you state nothing else is on (assuming you mean 120 volt AC items), there is one thing that often gets forgotten about, and that is the converters AC draw.

If the converter is recharging your battery, or depending on how many 12 volt DC items you are using...depends on how many 120 volt AC amps the converter is consuming. Remember that the converter is taking 120 volt AC and converting it to 12 volt DC.