Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2015, 01:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
Slide out stuck in out positon

Ok everyone this is my first time using a forum. I have a 2007 Wildcat I have had for several years. It is currently in my barn on property outside Casper Wyoming. We have enjoyed it for several summers and in the barn protects it from the elements. Problem is I needed to move it and when I went to close the slide out (only has one) I got nothing. I checked the fuse panel and all fuses look good, so I pulled the pump and solenoid took it to a local (17 miles away) rv dealer and asked them to check it out. They said the pump worked so it must be the solenoid. I ordered the solenoid (called a Trombeta sp?)and put it in. It did not solve the problem, before I call the mobile repair any suggestions?
__________________

Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 02:13 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11,174
Dumb question, but did you check fuse? Is there 12V at pump?
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 02:51 PM   #3
Boss Ox & Drovergirl
 
oxcamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N.E. Ohio Snow Belt
Posts: 783
Dumb Question #2, what's your power source? Battery or shore power?
__________________
Mark, Vicki, & Scout THE dog
2015 Hemisphere 282RK
2011 2500HD Silverado
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:15 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
Dumb question

First I'm the dumb one I checked the fuse panel and all looked good, second I didn't check for twelve volt but did get a spark when I hooked the solenoid up.
Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:16 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
Dumb question #2

Like I said there is no dumb question. I have it on both battery and shore power.
Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
crunchman12001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Posts: 3,225
Undercharged or dead battery?
__________________
2017 Salem Villa Estate 395RET-
2011 Coachmen Freedom Express 295RLDS- Sold
2015 F-250 FX4
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:46 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
undercharged or dead battery

I can run lights on battery so I don't think the battery is dead. How would I check for an undercharged battery? Doesn't running on shore power charge your battery? I was running a generator (Honda EU3000i) for a couple of days.
Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TEMP for now
Posts: 1,148
On my wildcat there is a circuit breaker right by the pump mine are auto reset but yours may be manual if it is then there is a push button on one side.
__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 07:40 PM   #9
Boss Ox & Drovergirl
 
oxcamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N.E. Ohio Snow Belt
Posts: 783
Shore power charges the batteries and everything (except any 120 V outlets and, a/c)run off the battery Or the inverter. The shore power just keeps the battery on continuous charge.
__________________
Mark, Vicki, & Scout THE dog
2015 Hemisphere 282RK
2011 2500HD Silverado
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 07:50 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,069
Do you get any clicking noise or just silence and no movement? I would double check connections and make sure rodents haven't chewed through any wires.
__________________
<a href=https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>https://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 08:08 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
asquared

I get nothing when on my next trip to the trailer I'll have to check the wiring. The rodents haven't chewed anything in the landing compartment where the pump is I'll have to check continuity and voltage. thanks
Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 08:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
Do you get any clicking noise or just silence and no movement? I would double check connections and make sure rodents haven't chewed through any wires.
I was thinking the same thing Rodent chewed through a wire being stored in a barn there usually are mice in barns. I had my boat motor in my garage and one chewed through the gas line from the pump to the carb. If that won't stop one then a wire if fair game.
__________________
Think about things before you do them make life easier not harder.
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 11:48 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
Thanks everyone

Like I said I'll check next month when I go back to the trailer. I appreciate all the help and when I find out what the problem is I'll report it to this thread.
Nicster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 12:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 312
Possibly one of the little furry critters took a liking to your wiring?
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 12:15 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: arizona
Posts: 20
have no idea whether or not your 5th wheel is wired significantly different from our travel trailer, but our slide has a direct run to batt, thru its own breaker/fuse, and does not go thru the main CB panel/converter -- recommend using your volt-ohm meter to check voltage level at slide system -- if batt is not fully there (slide motor, etc, does have a minimum voltage needed to operate), trace the wire to check for high resistance shorts to ground -- good luck --
__________________
Wanderers thru Wonders
Flagstaff 21FBRS led by F150 5.4
Sun & Moon, direct us...
don1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:05 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 117
Is there power at the switch?
How about the ground?
__________________
2016 Vibe 268RKS
2015 Chev 2500HD
Mewcasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 03:41 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 549
Mine has a fuse right off the battery. Might check
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 08:47 PM   #18
Member
 
mikes86gn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Swartz Creek,Mi
Posts: 57
My old Wildcat TT had two auto reset breakers just on the inside of the tongue, right side, inline with the side of the battery box. There was a rubber flap covering them. The one for my slide corroded and the slide quit working. Replaced the breaker and all was good.
__________________
2012 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 Gas 4.10 gears
1986 Buick Grand National 4700 Actual Miles
2015 Crusader 28RL
Days camped 2014 33 . 2015 42. 2016 38. 2017 35. 2018 41
mikes86gn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 09:00 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 845
Check to see if the battery got swapped and a cable just got left off...like the pump cable. seen that happen a lot...
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 05:21 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saint Charles, MO
Posts: 2
Had a slide problem with my 2015 Rockport. Checked all of the interior fuses and they were ok. The fuse on my camper was under the battery under the frame that connects to my tow vehicle. The 30A fuse was blown. Replaced it and the slide works normally. Hope this helps.
__________________

davidinstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slide out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


×