Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2016, 11:40 AM   #1

Solar panel kits

Hello, I just bought a wildcat maxx 285RKX. Does anyone have recommendations on a solar kit that has everything I need? I am very new to this and appreciate any help, thank you.
bedelstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:21 PM   #2
Site Team

Lots of discussions on the forum on solar installations as well as many examples. You need to do a lot of homework before you jump. You need to determine what your power requirements are, Where/When you are camping ( AC/ heat required, sun/shade percentage). How many batteries you have/plan to have. Once you have this data, you are ready to look for a solution. A few tips. Kits are usually not the best way to go as they include inferior or wrong components. Always get a larger controller than you estimate you need so you have the ability to add panels and not purchase a new controller. See the Library ( green bar on top of the page) for more info.

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:34 PM   #3

A buddy of mine that I was stationed with while in the Navy just retired and had RV Solar Solutions (RV Solar Solutions) install solar panels on his Tiffin Allegro 37AP. He loves it and the package they developed and installed for him generates 43 amps while his normal running mode pulls 25 to 30 amps. They have a lot of information on their web site that might help you make a more informed decision.

2016 F350 4X4 CCDually Lariat with 6.7L and 3.73 gears
2016 Sierra 371 REBH
2015 Xpress H20PFC w/ Yamaha SHO 150
Days Camped: 2013-8 2014-16 2015-38 2016-86 2017-64, 2018-6 and counting
Gzrglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:38 PM   #4