Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 02:26 PM   #1
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Electrical problems

I used mg hair dryer in the camper this weekend and it cut out. Now there are multiple outlets that do not work...help me please! No breakers are tripped. Could it be a fuse?
__________________

Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:31 PM   #2
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 20,503
there should be one outlet with a GFI, usually in the bathroom. when it trips, all the outlets are non-functioning.
reset it and the others should work again.
__________________

bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:31 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bea View Post
I used mg hair dryer in the camper this weekend and it cut out. Now there are multiple outlets that do not work...help me please! No breakers are tripped. Could it be a fuse?
The outlets have GFCI protection. If one tripped, it will take out all downstream outlets. Look for your GFCI outlets and press the reset button.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:37 PM   #4
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
I did the one located in the bathroom and that hasn't fixed the problem. Could there be more than one if those switches that I am missing?
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:43 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,552
Perhaps the kitchen.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:33 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,280
If you were using the receptacle in the bathroom, then that is the GFI that would have tripped. I had a bad GFI that would not reset when I got my trailer.

Another idea, is that sometimes you can't tell if a breaker is tripped. Cut all of them off, and the firmly cut them back on.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:41 PM   #7
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
I wasn't using that outlet. I was using one in the bunkhouse room when this happened.
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:48 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bea View Post
I wasn't using that outlet. I was using one in the bunkhouse room when this happened.
Does the bathroom receptacle work after resetting that ?? On my trailer, there is only 1 GFI with the bathroom, kitchen, and outside receptacles on that circuit. Of course, there could be another GFI somewhere. I think I would try the breakers in the power center by resetting all of those.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 82
I suspect one of 3 things.

1 - a bad GFI seems reset but no power leaving.

2 - loose connection (or burn't off wire) inside the breaker panel

3 - a loose connection (or burn't off wire) behind one of the receptacles

If you are comfortable with doing this - I would disconnect all power from the trailer including batteries and start opening and inspecting every thing for tightness - including behind outlets that work as it mat be the last working point in the trailer. Ie power going into recetacle ok but wire leaving to feed powwer to next outlet burn't off.

Loose connections are not uncommon in trailers. Vibration, load changes, temperature changes - and sometimes hurried installation all equal potential problems
rick_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MotocrossCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 653
We have 3 GFI's and for some reason if the one in the bathroom trips it takes out the one located in my outside comparments. I have to reset the outside one first, then the bathroom one. Our Coachmen had one hidden in a cabinet and it took me half a day to find it.

Just because you checked the one you were using doesn't mean there isn't another one in line some where. look the camper over good for another one.
MotocrossCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 06:05 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sherdep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Cloud FL
Posts: 1,565
you could also go get one of the outlet testers that you plug into the outlet to verify it has voltage to narrow down which outlet has the issue - Home Depot sells them pretty cheeap - it also has a black button in the center so you can test GFI outlets as well
If you are savy with a multimeter you could use that as well but if you are not careful you could cross the leggs while checking the outlet and get a nice blue surprise
__________________
2011 Rockwood Mini Lite 2306 - Matt
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Qaud Cab 4x4 with 35" tires and 3.92 gears, Dynatech Longtube Headers & Fabtech 6" lift + Superchips with shift Tuning
Nights Camped 2011 (37) - 2012 (16)-2013 (2) -2014 (5) -2015(0)
USMC 91 - 95 - F/A-18 Aviation Ordnance
sherdep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,624
Does the AC and microwave work. If they are out too, then check the main breaker in the campground pedistal box. Maybe that got tripped somehow due to age, or some other reason. All your lights in the TT are 12 Volt so, if the breaker outside is tripped, you're NOT recharging your coach batterie(s) either.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:15 PM   #13
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5
Does the AC and microwave work. If they are out too, then check the main breaker in the campground pedistal box. Maybe that got tripped somehow due to age, or some other reason. All your lights in the TT are 12 Volt so, if the breaker outside is tripped, you're NOT recharging your coach batterie(s) either.
The A/C and appliances work. Other outlets also work. Just a few don't.
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,624
Definatly sounds like something related to the circuit you were on at the time. Does your bunkhouse have a bathroom or were you plugged into the regular plug that the kids would plug their "toys" into? If you were in the bathroom, it's probably a GFCI circuit and you may have a tripped GFI outlet somewhere. Find the outlet(s) with the buttons and test & reset them. Recheck the breakers in your power panel. As someone mentioned earlier, thay may not look tripped so turn them all off then on firmly. Hope one of these suggestions works. keep us all informed.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 06:14 AM   #15
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,136
I'm not sure how your unit is wired but check your outdoor receptacles and if there's any in a storage area as well. They may contain the GFIC receptacle that protects those other outlets.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:10 AM   #16
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks for all of yall responses. We disconnected the camper and turned all of the breakers off. Then turned everything back on and now all is well! Whew! Thanks again, yall are great!
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 09:28 PM   #17
itch'n to road trip
 
campnqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Georgia Mountains-Jasper GA.
Posts: 945
Send a message via AIM to campnqueen Send a message via MSN to campnqueen Send a message via Yahoo to campnqueen
Okay y'all... we have ONE GFCI outlet in the bathroom. If we do not use our camper on a regular bases... when we DO... the GFCI breaker will trip with just a fan plugged in and turned on. Sometimes we have to reset it several time before it finally stays engaged. Guess it gets corrosion on the wires or contact points.

We think we may have a bad GFCI outlet in our RV bathroom... have had GFCI outlets go bad in our house too, and simply replaced them with a new outlet.

Okay so here is My question... if the GFCI outlet in out RV camper goes out and is bad ...can we go to our local hardware store/ HD and buy another GFCI outlet and replace the one in the camper? Or is the GFCI outlet in my camper different and need to be purchased from a RV store?

Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
__________________

2012 Ford F-250 King Ranch Super Crew Cab 4x4 "Mae West"
2014 Work & Play 25ULA "Ula"
Paula Drake, Ken Cooksey, Sunny Delight, Valor & Scarlet Begonia
Jasper Ga.
campnqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by campnqueen View Post
Okay y'all... we have ONE GFCI outlet in the bathroom. If we do not use our camper on a regular bases... when we DO... the GFCI breaker will trip with just a fan plugged in and turned on. Sometimes we have to reset it several time before it finally stays engaged. Guess it gets corrosion on the wires or contact points.

We think we may have a bad GFCI outlet in our RV bathroom... have had GFCI outlets go bad in our house too, and simply replaced them with a new outlet.

Okay so here is My question... if the GFCI outlet in out RV camper goes out and is bad ...can we go to our local hardware store/ HD and buy another GFCI outlet and replace the one in the camper? Or is the GFCI outlet in my camper different and need to be purchased from a RV store?

Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
Since it's a 110v circuit, I don't see any difference from a regular household recepticle. So, HD should be your next stop.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:04 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Eric F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 129
The GFCI from your local hardware store will work. I had the same problem with mine. Replaced it with one from Home Depot and it works fine. I did go with an outdoor outlet since it is in the restroom. May not be necessary though since they are sealed for the most part.
__________________
Eric F.
2015 Flagstaff Shamrock 233S
2012 Ford F250
Eric F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 06:56 AM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by campnqueen View Post
Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
Paula and Ken,

Remember that a GFCI outlet compares the return current on the neutral (white) wire to the supplied current on the hot (black) wire in order to determine if you have a high resistance short (you in the circuit) or a high resistance loss (loose wire) that could cause a fire due to heat burning up the wires. For comparison, a Circuit breaker protects you from LOW resistance current loss (dead short or high current draw).

The GFCI outlet by Code is the first outlet that requires protection (like by a sink) and by it's nature ALL outlets downstream from the GFCI also receive that protection. Replacing a GFCI outlet with a NON-GFCI outlet is not only a violation of the electrical code; it is down right unsafe.

As to why a GFCI will trip under load has to do with that comparison we were talking about. If there is a high resistance connection at that outlet or any outlet downstream, the GFCI will trip off line.

So, with the circuit's power breaker turned off, check:

1) all connections behind the wall plate for looseness and corrosion. This is harder to do than you might think since they are "push in" connections and you might have a bad one. Wiggle each wire and see if it moves in the hole. If it does it needs to be replaced. (If this is the GFCI, it must be replaced with a GFCI)

2) If all is tight and bright, make sure you found them all. If there are two shielded cables going into the outlet box, there is another outlet somewhere down the line. Keep looking till you find it. I had no idea I had two GFCI protected outlets on either side of the master bedroom bed because they were covered by the mattress.

3) You can not plug a GFCI protected circuit into a GFCI protected source (like some generators) because they do not play well together.
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


×