Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2023, 06:58 AM   #1

Help buying New Truck for the RV

Hello experts,
I am pretty new to the RV life but I am so glad I jumped in. It has been a dream. I need some help because this is my first time buying a new truck while owning the RV. I know this may sound silly to people who understand RVs and trucks and weights etc, but my brain just doesn't get it.
I am hoping to find someone who can give me a possible list of trucks that would work to pull my trailer.If you are still reading, I will give details below.
If I had all the money in the world this would be an easy decisions. But I may be looking at the lower/smaller end of the truck series to be able to afford something new. FYI, I am leasing so keeping my current truck isnt an option hence my new problem.

My current truck is a Dodge Ram 1500 classic and it pulls the Rv with no problem.It does not have a special Hemi or anything like that.. Its a V6 standard engine I guess.

My trailer is a Forest River Xlite Wildwood 201BHXL with a dry weight according to the brochure of 4,200lbs.

That's about as far as I got with the details. So generally speaking, how do I determine the engine size I need to pull this RV? Engines are a complete other knowledge base that I know nothing. It's greek to me. Hopefully someone may be able to tell me to look for x number under x heading under the engine specs and if its x number you are good... haha. Does that even exist?

Thank you in advance for helping me and I apologize for my lack of understanding. The best way to learn is to ask questions right?
RobLynn1860 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2023, 07:37 AM   #2
llr

Unless you are thinking about a larger trailer almost anything would be ok for you. If you are think of larger post some weights and lengths.