Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2018, 09:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Heritage glen 272RL Black switch for power?

My husband and I just bought a 2016 Heritage Glen 272RL. The previous owner passed away and the daughter didnít know much about the trailer.

There is a black switch to the left of the slide out switches and water tank testers that we canít exactly figure out. The air conditioning goes on and off when I switch it and it also has to be on for the fireplace to work. My guess is that it is used to switch from battery to A/C power but Iím not 100% sure. Wondering if anyone else knows for sure. I can post a picture of it if needed. Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________

Bobbigrl27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 126
Hello,

We have a 14' and dont have the fireplace but my in-laws do have a 16' like yours and i believe that switch if for the AC/Fireplace as you can not run both the AC and fireplace at the same time. I think up position AC works and down fireplace works. I can really remember but its that way or the opposite.
__________________

scottnlindsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Thank you, this makes complete sense. I just wasn’t sure if it controlled anything else.
Bobbigrl27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 08:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,796
does it effect the microwave? ive seen threads about a switch that flips between the fireplace and microwave because they are on the same circuit and cant run both at same time?
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 09:15 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimber45 View Post
does it effect the microwave? ive seen threads about a switch that flips between the fireplace and microwave because they are on the same circuit and cant run both at same time?
I'm not sure, I will have to test it out this weekend when we camp for the first time. Thanks for the idea.
Bobbigrl27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 09:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 250
Ummh...we have a 2016 272RLIS also and no switch in ours. Ours could be an earlier or later model.
__________________
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 Big Horn, 6.7 CTD, 4x4
KRSmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 09:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRSmitty View Post
Ummh...we have a 2016 272RLIS also and no switch in ours. Ours could be an earlier or later model.

do you have 50 or 30 amp service? I have 50 amp on my heritage glen and no such switch. If the op has 30 amp service it would make sense.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 09:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimber45 View Post
do you have 50 or 30 amp service? I have 50 amp on my heritage glen and no such switch. If the op has 30 amp service it would make sense.
50 Amp service...yes, that make sense.
__________________
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 Big Horn, 6.7 CTD, 4x4
KRSmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 10:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 120
Does not compute. Do you have an inverter on board by chance ? Also if I read your post correctly it turns on both the A/C and the fireplace at the same time ?
iceclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 10:09 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Interesting my ‘15 50 amp does not have this switch.
Powerstroke_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 10:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimber45 View Post
does it effect the microwave? ive seen threads about a switch that flips between the fireplace and microwave because they are on the same circuit and cant run both at same time?
This is the first time that I have heard the AC being on a shared circuit but it makes perfect sense to be sharing with the fireplace. Don't need them both at once. Usually, it's fireplace and microwave. Them you might need together.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 08:33 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceclimber View Post
Does not compute. Do you have an inverter on board by chance ? Also if I read your post correctly it turns on both the A/C and the fireplace at the same time ?
Sorry, I worded the OP wrong. If the switch is up, only to A/C will run. If it’s down, only the fireplace will run. I tested this weekend and it does not affect the microwave at all, just controls the A/C or fireplace.
Bobbigrl27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 08:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 126
Yayyyy I was right, Glad you figured it out.
__________________

scottnlindsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black, power, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


×