Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2021, 01:16 PM   #1

Replacing water heater anode

There are many new owners of travel trailers and learning the ins & outs of maintaining the unit is typically an adventure. While I am not a new RV unit owner, I am still learning what is necessary to keep the unit on the road & viable.

Well I learned a new (to me) need my 2018 Wildwood trailer; an inspection of the water heater anode at least annually. I did not believe I needed to do this since my water heater only runs on propane. but I was very wrong.

The picture, I have posted is the old and the new anode, the original anode was first used when the trailer was new Jan 21, 2019. I finally inspected it AND replaced the original recently (July 28, 2021) or some 30 months after bring the trailer home. When I flushed the tank out it was full of "sand" or pieces of the old anode (not good).

I'm posting this to remind all that the water heater anode must be inspected, at least every travel season.

Hope this helps someone who is still learning RV maintenance. Funny as this may seem I did remember to lube the trailers wheel bearing but not replace the anode !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	07282021.RV.ANODE.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	260235  
2021 Ford F-150, 5.0L Super Crew
Retired, Electrical Engineer
USN Vietnam Vet Brown Water Navy PBR 534 1968 - 1970
Florida.Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 01:34 PM   #2
Trailer Park Supervisor

You should be dumping hot water tank AT LEAST when you put it away for season. The longer tank is full, the sooner you will need to replace anode. Mine is into 3rd season and only 75% consumed, I dump tanks in between trips if unused a month or more.
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 01:53 PM   #3