Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-08-2021, 04:55 PM   #1

RV Blow Out Plug

Picked up an RV Blow Out Plug today to begin my winterization process. I see that the plug has a pressure restriction hole in the nipple. Is this for reducing the pressure during the blow out process? I have never used this type of plug before, always just reduced my pressures to about 20 psi with a regulator. I am assuming that I will not have to use a regulator with this new plug.... is that correct? My compressor regulator is set at 80 psi. Don't want to blow a hole in the system. Thanks for your help.
2012 Chey 1500 Silverado w/tow
Old Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 05:06 PM   #2

NO! You have to reduce you compressor output psi to 20-40. DO NOT inject 80 psi unless one of us there with a video camera for America’s Funniest Home Videos.
Old 11-08-2021, 05:07 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderMore View Post
NO! You have to reduce you compressor output psi to 20-40. DO NOT inject 80 psi unless one of us there with a video camera for America’s Funniest Home Videos.
Bahahaha!!
rs2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 05:47 PM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderMore View Post
Wondering why you believe 80 PSI will blow things up?

When the air pocket gets depleted in the water heater, liquid expansion often causes pressures of 80 PSI and upwards. Some manufacturers say 150 PSI can be seen and that's why the T&P will drip at times.

Here's a photo of pressures I experienced last year while in FL. No explosions, no America's Funniest Videos!

Click image for larger version

Name:	20210116_151157.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	265472

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 05:58 PM   #5