Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-30-2019, 04:03 PM   #1

Travel Trailer in Cold Weather

Hey guys. I’m an RV newbie (stationary full timer) and I could use some tips for my first winter in my TT. Even though I’m in Alabama, it’s been cold here lately. My water has froze twice (20 - 30s) and I’m frustrated. I have a heat taped hose and I leave my water dripping. I’ve never used my freshwater tank and I’m on full hook ups. Should I just unhook the city water during freezing? I came home today to a busted water filter outside and water going everywhere. I’m grateful it’s all good inside, just don’t want any expensive messes. Also, I emptied my black and grey tanks and poured rv antifreeze in to keep from freezing. Someone said to leave the grey tank open, so I’ve done that.

Below freezing temps are not too common, but it happens for a few weeks. Any advice is appreciated! [emoji4]

2018 Wildwood 28RLSS
xr751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 05:17 PM   #2
Site Team

If you have heat tape on your hose and faucet standpipe you shouldn't freeze up at those temps. If there's even a little bit of pipe uncovered it can freeze.

I'd suggest just unhooking your water hose and draining it whenever it's going to freeze.

I don't know what part of Alabama you're in but it can get pretty cold north of Montgomery for a few days. Now down here where we are we don't get much cold.
Old 01-30-2019, 05:26 PM   #3

Travel Trailer in Cold Weather

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If you have heat tape on your hose and faucet standpipe you shouldn't freeze up at those temps. If there's even a little bit of pipe uncovered it can freeze.

I'd suggest just unhooking your water hose and draining it whenever it's going to freeze.