Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2020, 09:14 AM   #1

Ac drain

I have a 2004 flagstaff 8528BHSS. Currently living in it full-time. Since I’ve ran the ac this past month the ac had been dripping down the side of the 5th wheel. At times it can be a pretty steady stream for a few seconds as the ac turns off. I’m new to rving and I’m not sure if this is where the ac is supposed to drain. Is there something I need to do to correct this? If not normal where is the ac supposed to drain?
Thanks
RVNOOB89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:16 PM   #2

a/c drain

the roof of your rv should have a slight crown to it that will alow the water to drain to one to one side or the other,there where there are small channels that form a gutter to direct the water to the front or rear of the rv,my tt gas little down spouts to let it drip a inch or so away from the side,check those channel for debris
Old 05-17-2020, 01:22 PM   #3
Site Team

Your A/C drains on the roof and gravity will then determine where it eventually runs off. If you have gutters, it should drain at one of the unit where the gutter ends. if it drains in the middle of a gutter it is likely clogged,

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 04:07 PM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

As the A/C runs, it pulls moisture out of the air inside the R/V and creates condensate. (water)

That water then runs out the drain holes in the A/C unit/shroud (on the roof) and continues to run off the roof just as any water would do. (such as rain)