Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-17-2022, 08:09 PM   #1

Battery State of Charge on 1/3 while RV idle for days

Our new RF E-pro 20BHS RV is idle in front of our house w/ 6+ hours of direct sunlight every day (Wyoming), and fridge set to 0. It is cold in the fridge, yet the battery monitor only shows 1/3. Also measured Voltage and shows ~11.3V at the 2 6V battery outlets. Im new to RV, but versatile to electronics/electrics. this makes no sense, for a 1 sqm solar panel. Anyone ahave any tips? I should be on full charge. Secondly how do you turn off fridge for winter (or whatever other reason)
remusac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2022, 08:26 PM   #2
Site Team

Moved thread to the Flagstaff sub-forum.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2022, 08:33 PM   #3

Factory monitor led’s are virtually worthless. Mine reads 4 leds while charging. Sort of peachy at three leds. Two leds is 1/3, or you are damaging your battery by being below 50%. One led is doa.

Battery voltage. 50% is about 12.0. Full is about ,12.6. Tenths matter.

Much Below 12 volt readings on a battery means doing damage to the battery.

Battery readings need to be taken at least two hours after charging or, they are invalid. Called residual charge.

Solar panels are rated in watts. 100 watts on its best day, not most, can provide 25 amps dc of charging. Your gc2 batteries can provide about 110 dc amps.

With a compressor fridge you must carefully watch you battery monitor to prevent over discharging. The monitor you likely need to purchase. These fridges can use up to 10 dc amps per hour. Hot weather. Less in cold weather.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2022, 08:37 PM   #4