Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2021, 10:13 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cobbs Creek
Posts: 15
Electrical Problem E-Pro 19fds

Last week while camping, we were hooked up to electric. I ran the electric heater all night without problems. In the morning, without thinking, I plugged the coffee maker in to the same GFI plug and puff. No more power. I went to the fuse box and toggled the thirty amp breaker as well as the GFI breaker , but the GFI would not reset at the plug. I checked the inverter and it had not tripped. I replaced the main GFI plug and still nothing. What am I missing?
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 11:02 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,519
The breaker at the power pole the trailer is plugged into?
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 12:30 PM   #3
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,573
Do you have 120v power at other places in your R/V?
Have you checked voltage anywhere with a multimeter?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 06:16 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cobbs Creek
Posts: 15
Yes. Frig and microwave are both working fine.
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 06:17 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cobbs Creek
Posts: 15
Yes refrigerator and microwave are both working. Just outlets. No electric detected at any of the six outlets.
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 06:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,519
The GFCI receptacle will not reset if it does not have power to it, so I would recommend you double check the circuit breakers in your power distribution center and make sure none of them is actually tripped.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 07:10 PM   #7
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,573
You said you replaced the "main GFI plug." (your words)

I assume you mean the GFCI receptacle?

When you replaced it, was there voltage there?
Did you test with a multimeter?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 06:53 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cobbs Creek
Posts: 15
There was no power there
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 07:45 AM   #9
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
There was no power there
OK... then you will need to go back to the power distribution box in your R/V and check for power at the breaker that feeds that outlet and check for voltage.

If you have no power coming out of the breaker (and you are sure it is on) then the breaker is bad or not latched properly into the buss since you mention having power other places.

If you have power coming out the breaker and the feed wire is attached to the breaker properly, then you have an issue somewhere between the breaker and the GFCI outlet.

One last thing... this is a 30a shore power service correct?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 07:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
PhilFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Maine
Posts: 520
If you have power everywhere except the the GFCI circuit, then it is probably your circuit breaker for the GFCI circuit. You overloaded the GFCI line and that would trip the circuit breaker, not necessarily the GFCI. Play with the breaker reset some more. If that doesn't work, get out the multimeter and get some readings coming into the circuit breaker and out of the circuit breaker.

Sometimes the breakers look like they are engaged, but they really aren't. This should have nothing to do with your inverter if you are plugged into shore power.
PhilFromMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 02:35 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 10
Make sure you flip all the breakers to the OFF position before you flip it back to the ON position first. Breakers need to be reset to reconnect the power. Even though it may seem as if it's reset it's not internally. This is common and is normal operation.
MasterElectrican787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 03:49 PM   #12
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,701
You need to reset the breaker on the inverter. Happened to me.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 09:17 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Last week while camping, we were hooked up to electric. I ran the electric heater all night without problems. In the morning, without thinking, I plugged the coffee maker in to the same GFI plug and puff. No more power. I went to the fuse box and toggled the thirty amp breaker as well as the GFI breaker , but the GFI would not reset at the plug. I checked the inverter and it had not tripped. I replaced the main GFI plug and still nothing. What am I missing?
Do you have a second GFI breaker that could be tripped? You may have one outside or in the bathroom.
dave1650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 09:33 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cobbs Creek
Posts: 15
That is the conclusion that I have come to. My only problem is that I can't find a reset switch.
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2021, 09:52 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Hi Frank,
From another fellow e-pro owner:
The epros have a power inverter that has a reset switch on it. It is red.

The GFI runs through the inverter. So, until you reset the switch on the inverter, your GFI will never work.
Many of us epro owners have had this issue.

This is the fix you need.
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.