Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-13-2018, 10:00 PM   #1

Unhitching on an incline

Have a question about unhitching my 27' travel trailer on an incline. After backing and getting level, I go to raise and unhitch. Even though I have the wheel chocks placed, when the ball "pops" out of the hitch, there is a small lurch forward. Is this usual and will this cause problems? I'm thinking it can't be good on the front jack, seeing this is the only thing holding the trailer up. I've even pulled forward enough so there would be no "play". Still there is just enough lurch to make me nervous. Should I be? Understand I'm a 62 yr old rookie. lol
lbnt18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:09 PM   #2
Coach

Are you using regular chocks or X chocks? X chocks work pretty well in situations like yours. You could also try pulling the breakaway switch, but that would have to be left off until you rehook. If your anything like me you'd forget about putting that back together.

2017 Sandpiper 381RBOK
2006 Ram 3500 Cummins Dually
valleyduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:17 PM   #3

Regular chocks. Thought about the X chocks, but haven't yet.
Old 12-14-2018, 08:45 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Unless you have a way to wedge the regular chocks into the tires, on an incline. there is going to be some movement when unhitching.

Some folks will pull up slightly (or back up) on one chock before putting the second chock in and allowing the trailer to settle back between the two before unhitching, thus helping to wedge the tire to keep it from rolling.

X-Chocks help do this too since you crank them between the tires.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 09:03 AM   #5