Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2015, 09:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 247
50 amp RV on a 30 amp box

How many people are running their 50 amp Motorhome at locations that offer only 30 amp service. What can be expected?
__________________

Rockwoodjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 09:14 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Daleville, AL.
Posts: 82
I run mine on 30 at the house. Only one air will run on the 30. I also have a 50 splitter I use to plug in at sites with only 30 amp. One side to 30 and the other side to the 20 amp plug with an adapter.
__________________

__________________
2011 F350 Lariat Ultimate Dually 6.7 w/ B&W Companion
2014 Heritage Glen 356QBQ
2016 Explorer Platinum, 1998 Mustang
1SG(Ret) (1987) US Army Aviation

Days/Nights Camped 2016: 34
dogwood36322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 09:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,435
You can expect 30 amps to be available. The shore power pedestal CB will trip if you exceed the limit (hopefully). I only stay at places that only offer 30 amps if the AC's are not needed, otherwise I pass.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 10:05 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Camper John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Thackerville, OK
Posts: 29
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. I get told all the time that if a problem exists it has to be in the park system. I have 2 examples of why this is not always the case. 1 is the buzz bar we have one the office counter with the notice that NO adapters are permitted. The other are photos of the 40' HR MH that burned to the ground 2 years ago. After the insurance company and the State Fire Marshall investigated both concluded that the fire was caused by an overload of coach shore power system. I hear too many time that the park is "just trying to gouge campers by charging extra for 50AMP" and that is why campers use these magical adapters. Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
Camper John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 539
30 amp works fine. Just have to work with that power budget. Turn off electric hot water. Limit to one AC. Watch high power devices like microwave hair dryer toaster and heater. Limit to one at a time if AC on
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 55
BMac

Along the same thread, I plug my 30 amp into a 50 amp outlet with an adapter because the 30 amp outlet in my tower is loose. Am I only getting 25 amps to my trailer?
bbbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,496
Frankly, when it comes to Georgetown, they wire all of their coaches with 50 AMPs. From a manufacturing standpoint it makes it much easier than stocking 30 and 50 amp cables, panels, etc. I only have one AC unit and, although it is 15000 BTU, it is rated at something like 16 amps. Add in the water heater (10 amps) OR the microwave (9 amps) and you are up to the high 20's. You can't run everything at the same time and it's safest to run the water heater on propane if you are using air conditioning. Otherwise...you will never have a problem with a 50 to 30 amp adapter.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:42 PM   #8
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbymac View Post
Along the same thread, I plug my 30 amp into a 50 amp outlet with an adapter because the 30 amp outlet in my tower is loose. Am I only getting 25 amps to my trailer?
No you get 30amps. Box will give 50 but your trailer will / can only pull the 30 before (hopefully) somethings trips.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 247
Where have you bought the adaptor to run a 50 amp RV on 30 amp service?
Rockwoodjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:49 PM   #10
Blog: RVroadtripper.com
 
hbillsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Near Dallas Texas
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper John View Post
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. I get told all the time that if a problem exists it has to be in the park system. I have 2 examples of why this is not always the case. 1 is the buzz bar we have one the office counter with the notice that NO adapters are permitted. The other are photos of the 40' HR MH that burned to the ground 2 years ago. After the insurance company and the State Fire Marshall investigated both concluded that the fire was caused by an overload of coach shore power system. I hear too many time that the park is "just trying to gouge campers by charging extra for 50AMP" and that is why campers use these magical adapters. Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
Which are you speaking about?
- the 50amp to 30+20 adapters that plug into BOTH the 30amp and the 20amp with the expectation that the power stand will provide 50amps? The don't work on GFI receptacles I believe.

- the dogbones that simply feed the parks 30amp into one leg of the 50amp?

I can't see how one can travel without a dogbone. I use one but restrict my trailer usage to stay under (i.e. only use one of these at a time -A/C -Microwave -hairdryer). Any two, including using 2 A/C's will go over and pop the breaker. But if you are diligent, it lets us 50ampers stay in parks that do not offer 50.
__________________
2016 Wildcat 295RSX - 2015 GMC 2500HD DblCab Duramax/Allison 4x4 Z71 6.6' Bed
Maxxis 235/80/16E; AirBags w/AirLift1; mor/Ryde Rubber Pinbox; Andersen UltimateII Alum. 5erhitch on Reese Flipball w/Curt 4" offset; LCI Ground Control3; King Dishtailgater; Traveling with 10' Portabote;
hbillsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 12:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,496
No when you plug a 30 into a 50 with an adapter you are getting 50! Your panel will protect the RV by tripping at 30, but the pedestal won't trip until 50.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper John View Post
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. ........ Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
======================

$5/day???? That's $150 a month extra. I don't even pay that much for my whole house with a 2˝Ton A.C. running during the hot summer months. $3 maybe, but $5?????

Happy trails,
billb800si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:05 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 539
The tower will provide 50 amps. You will be limited to 30 amps by the main breaker in the rig.
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:14 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Camper John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Thackerville, OK
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbillsmith View Post
Which are you speaking about?
- the 50amp to 30+20 adapters that plug into BOTH the 30amp and the 20amp with the expectation that the power stand will provide 50amps? The don't work on GFI receptacles I believe.

- the dogbones that simply feed the parks 30amp into one leg of the 50amp?

I can't see how one can travel without a dogbone. I use one but restrict my trailer usage to stay under (i.e. only use one of these at a time -A/C -Microwave -hairdryer). Any two, including using 2 A/C's will go over and pop the breaker. But if you are diligent, it lets us 50ampers stay in parks that do not offer 50.
I am referring to the switch boxes that plug into 30AMP boxes from 50AMP RVs. You are correct these adapters do not work with the 20AMP GFCI outlets.
Camper John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:19 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Camper John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Thackerville, OK
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by billb800si View Post
======================

$5/day???? That's $150 a month extra. I don't even pay that much for my whole house with a 2˝Ton A.C. running during the hot summer months. $3 maybe, but $5?????

Happy trails,
That rate is a daily rate, Our site daily rate is based upon 30AMP. I would gladly trade you monthly electric bills. My house 2760 sq ft with a 5 ton a/c in Texas, $244.00 a month on level bill.
Camper John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:29 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper John View Post
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. I get told all the time that if a problem exists it has to be in the park system. I have 2 examples of why this is not always the case. 1 is the buzz bar we have one the office counter with the notice that NO adapters are permitted. The other are photos of the 40' HR MH that burned to the ground 2 years ago. After the insurance company and the State Fire Marshall investigated both concluded that the fire was caused by an overload of coach shore power system. I hear too many time that the park is "just trying to gouge campers by charging extra for 50AMP" and that is why campers use these magical adapters. Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
Don't understand the point between the HR MH loss and shore power dog bone (adapter) usage.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:33 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,496
i tend to agree. A 50 amp connected to a 30 amp pedestal is certainly defined as "under powered" not overloaded. Now a bad breaker somewhere could be a problem.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:33 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 539
I have run into 30 amp pedestal receptacles that have been overloaded

You can tell because one or more slots show signs of overheating. Do not use these! They can damage the plug on your cord. Either get another space or use the 50 amp if available.
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,496
Perhaps bad plugs but they shouldn't be able to be overloaded if the pedestal breakers are working. Bad plugs can arc, which would burn the receptacle contacts.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:40 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 539
Best just to check receptacle condition before plugging in. If signs of overheating better not use it.
__________________

Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


×