Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2015, 12:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
8289WS Converter

Anyone know where it is?

Thanks
__________________

txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:29 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Behind or in your distribution panel.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:37 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Do you mean the fuse box by the door? Thank you!!!
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:39 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Yes

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:41 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks, Turbs!
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:42 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Is it a wfco unit?
Fuse panel.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:50 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Yes. Having electric issue. Power at cg box is good. But without a charger on the battery nothing works. And with it charging microwave still doesn't work. Everything else does - acs TV etc. We thought maybe there was a fuse issue with converter. Too hard to get to, though.
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:04 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
No 12v power?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by txmissy View Post
Yes. Having electric issue. Power at cg box is good. But without a charger on the battery nothing works. And with it charging microwave still doesn't work. Everything else does - acs TV etc. We thought maybe there was a fuse issue with converter. Too hard to get to, though.
Take the screws out at the top of the lid then just pull the cover up and out. The convertor will just slide out nothing holding that part in. Have the same unit and went to progressive 50 or 55amp , should have got the 65 amp...Very easy to do.....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 729
All the user-accessible parts of the power center are behind the flip-down door of that brown box... the main AC breaker, AC branch circuit breakers and the 12VDC fuses (the multicolored plastic rectangles). The converter - the part that charges the battery - is integrated into (behind and underneath) the breaker/fuse area and has its own breaker to enable the AC to DC (battery charging function).

The microwave has nothing to do with the 12V side of the system (converter or battery), it runs strictly on AC. Its possible the breaker for it was tripped at some time. With most tripped breakers you need to move the handle fully to the OFF position before they can be reset to the ON position.

It happens fairly frequently that the battery gets hooked up backwards if it has been removed because, unlike a car, on a trailer the black cable goes to the +ve and the white goes to -ve (this follows the residential 'white is neutral' scheme). When this happens, the two 40A fuses (the brown ones on their own) will blow to protect that side of the system but everything AC should still work. They are awfully difficult to find in stores.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

Self restraint is for the young. I'm old and want it NOW!
DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Take the screws out at the top of the lid then just pull the cover up and out. The convertor will just slide out nothing holding that part in. Have the same unit and went to progressive 50 or 55amp , should have got the 65 amp...Very easy to do.....
I wouldn't recommend a DIY power center replacement to someone who didn't know that it was the brown box on the wall.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

Self restraint is for the young. I'm old and want it NOW!
DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:21 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Nope. Nothing now.
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSchwartz View Post
I wouldn't recommend a DIY power center replacement to someone who didn't know that it was the brown box on the wall.
We all have to start somewhere....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:24 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSchwartz View Post
I wouldn't recommend a DIY power center replacement to someone who didn't know that it was the brown box on the wall.
Thanks, Dave
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:32 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
We all have to start somewhere....
If it is only your Microwave, then check all your breakers which might not be labeled correctly. turn each one off and on do nothing with the 30 amp one. The 30 amp should be your main power the rest should be 15 or 20 amp. and the 30 amp is on top unless you 50 amp service. don't shut the 30 or 50 off on top. If you do you will lose all power. Same breakers as your home.....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:33 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSchwartz View Post
I wouldn't recommend a DIY power center replacement to someone who didn't know that it was the brown box on the wall.
I don't know he might have had a bad PDI, this isn't rocket science...
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 02:00 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
We have a mobile tech on the way. Will let you all know the prognosis. Thanks for all the input - this is only our second trip out - pretty new at all of this.
txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 02:20 PM   #18
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by txmissy View Post
We have a mobile tech on the way. Will let you all know the prognosis. Thanks for all the input - this is only our second trip out - pretty new at all of this.
If it is only the mw, it could be as simple as a GFI is tripped.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 03:10 PM   #19
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Or a bad Microwave!

Post #3 in this thread cover how to replace the converter, which was one of the first Mods I did.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html

RodeoGeorge
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8289WS
Mods: Central Vac, PI EMS-HW50C, 2025RV, (2) SCS225 Trojans, PD9260, Awning Remotes & LED Lights, Eliminators, External Water Filter,, Intellijacks
2008 RAM 3500 Cab&Chassis Hauler Bed, B&W Companion Hitch
All My Modifications are at this link:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 03:40 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Blown converter.

Blown microwave.

We will order both and replace. George, your link will come in handy!

We have a battery charger hooked up so we can finish out the weekend.

Thanks, everyone!
__________________

txmissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


×