Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-06-2022, 12:48 PM   #1

Cell Booster Dealer Install 2021 2911BS

Just had the dealer install a Winegard Cell Booster on my 2911BS. I am pretty certain they did a terrible install but thought I'd ask on here since I'm not an RV mechanic. I would have thought the cable would have been run inside the RV and not along the roof. Am I wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cell Booster Install Roof Pic.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	285.8 KB
ID:	268563  
Yaya81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2022, 04:59 PM   #2

What the is that!?! That looks like a horrible installation they did to me. Yes it would have been better if they had went straight down from the roof and then sealed it up. Or moved the antenna somewhere closer to where the cable was going into the trailer so you didn’t have so much cable just sitting on top. (I will admit I don’t know the installation requirements for the Winegard booster, so maybe the outside antenna needs to be more centrally located). I personally would be afraid that the tape will deteriorate and/or come off allowing the cable to move around and destroy itself.
Backcountryboondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2022, 05:33 PM   #3

All I can say is…….Wow!
Camp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2022, 05:47 PM   #4

I would have done a neater installation but it would be more difficult and it would take longer (I.e. it would cost more). I expect your install is not entirely unusual. Have you seen how cable TV installers do a house install? Wires draped hideously along the outside or even over the roof.
Old 02-06-2022, 06:03 PM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Cell boosters need the antenna mounted as far away from the repeater as possible so I'm sure that's why the distance.