Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2017, 06:08 PM   #1

heater problems at high altitude

I am new to the camping world. I just bought a used 2013 rockwood ultralite 2304s, and so far love it. I was camping last weekend and the heater worked on and off but I was at 10,000 ft. never had problems with it before or after at 7000 . any one else have this issue?
thanks
wyoming camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:17 PM   #2
Grammar Pedant

You need to describe in more detail what you mean by "worked off and on." That could mean that fan blew air the whole time, but maybe wasn't hot. It could mean that it would stop blowing, even though it didn't seem to get warm enough inside your trailer to trip the thermostat. Were there noises? Were there smells? And so on.

In general, altitude shouldn't affect your furnace. There is less oxygen at 10K than 7K, obviously. However, this doesn't mean that there won't be combustion of propane. What it means is that the combustion is inefficient and incomplete. Complete combustion produces CO2 and water. Incomplete combustion produces CO2, water, and CO. This is why you have to be careful with propane heaters indoors. With RV furnaces, the exhaust is expelled outside ... so it doesn't matter as much that you're producing CO. A quick google will tell you more about combustion reactions and the production of CO.

OK, that's a long way of saying that you should get the same heating performance from your furnace at 10K as 7K.

My experience is with a popup, but those use a similar Atwood/Suburban furnace. I never had a problem camping and using a furnace at 10-11K feet.