Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2019, 11:05 AM   #1

Leaving AC on while away for extended time in AZ

Hello!

I am fairly new to RV living, continuing to learn new tips and tricks each trip I take!

I have been living in AZ in my travel trailer for approximately 3 months. I will be leaving to head back home for a time and leaving my travel trailer at my current RV site until I return. I was wondering about leaving the AC unit on AUTO at a high temperature to keep the unit conditioned. I know that the summers in AZ can get to high triple digits which means the unit with AC off will get very very hot. Does anyone have any advice? Should I leave the AC on or leave off? I am also worried to leave the AC off and warping of the inside trim occurring, as well as leaving the AC constantly running and adverse affects of this. Please let me know your experiences!
rvrehab101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 01:56 PM   #2

Leave it on. If gone perhaps set the temp a little higher so the unit doesn't work harder than necessary.

As for worrying about the A/C while gone, If you don't worry about it while sleeping, don't worry about it while gone.

A/C's are like refrigerators. They run and run and run for years without problems. Also like refrigerators many issues occur when shut down for extended periods and then restarted.

In Arizona or any other hot desert area I'd worry more about subjecting my canned goods and even medications to excessive temperatures that can occur in a closed RV when the outside temp is 110 degrees plus. Trim pieces, etc would be the last of my worries.