Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2011, 03:06 PM   #1

Product and towing questions for 2502 S Mini Lite - New Member

Hello Folks - Extreme newbie here..and new member.

I have never towed a trailer before and in researching options I keep coming back to the 2505s due to its weight, roominess, seating, 2 doors, and overall layout (kitchen and bath away from the living space).

I have a low mileage (56k) 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee, Ltd with 4.7 v-8 4x4 and factory tow package (I believe class iv) with a 6500lb towing capacity.

Fully loaded, how much does the 2502S trailer usually weigh? Do those on this forum with engine / towing capacity similar to mine have any issues? Based on research, I expect that I would tow about 5,500 lbs which would hopefully give me a good margin of error vs. the Jeep's 6500 lb towing capacity.

What is your overall experience with the 2505 S trailer? Any observations would be greatly appreciated.

David
Winter Park, FL.
Solo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
flyfishn

Solo1
I think it is possible, but I think you will find the 2505S a little much for your GC 4.7 V8.

I think the 2109S is very similar, but about 1000lbs less GVWR and 150 lbs less tongue weight. By the time you add water, propane and gear, you will find the tongue weight to increase by about 100-200 lbs from spec.
I am just right with the 1809S pulled by a Durango Hemi 5.7 and MAX tow setup of 8400lbs.
Invest in a good WD hitch....if you travel in mountains you will want a smaller trailer for you TV. You can make it work with your TV, but you will be maxed out.
Prodigy P2 Blue Ox Sway Pro
gtkato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 07:52 AM   #3

some extra caution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo1 View Post