Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2018, 11:51 AM   #1

Propane Tank Level

I'm new to all this but can anyone suggest how to tell what the level of my propane tanks are? We have Two 20gal tanks and I'm guessing that will last the whole summer but it would be nice to know the levels anyway.

Thanks.
cyberrick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 12:02 PM   #2

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Camco-RV-...ector/21803283

I've been thinking about picking up a couple of these, but I'm not sure how they would fit in with the switchover valve; and whether theres room in the cover.
MillMitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 12:07 PM   #3

Just make sure you have both valves open and keep an eye on your auto switchover valve/regulator, when it turns red that means the tank on that side is empty. Pull it off, get it refilled, and then flip the auto switchover valve to point at the tank that wasn't just filled in order to make it the primary tank. Then when that one is empty it will switch to the full tank (Make sure the valve is open) and you can get the now-empty tank refilled without interrupting the propane going into the trailer.
Old 06-20-2018, 12:08 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberrick1 View Post
I'm new to all this but can anyone suggest how to tell what the level of my propane tanks are? We have Two 20gal tanks and I'm guessing that will last the whole summer but it would be nice to know the levels anyway.

Thanks.
You can weigh them, or pour hot water on the cylinders and run your hand over the tank till you feel the cool temp difference, which will be the liquid propane level.

This thread will explain how to weigh them with bathroom or luggage scales, and see how much is in the cylinders.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ng-133760.html