Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Rockwood A/C Issue

Well we took out new 8289ws out this weekend for first trip, weather was great, actually was a little warm. so we ran the A\C's for the first time, I have the upgrade with the 2nd ac in the bedroom. Problem is the main A/C which I believe to be the 15k ac, does not seem to be putting out very cold air, the 13.5k ac in the bedroom was blowin and goin.. noticed on the progressive remote display when only running the main a/c shows about 10-12 amps draw .

Guess I will have to take it in and have the main ac tested. will see how good RV Wholesalers warranty network is..

Other than that everything worked great and we really enjoyed the floor plan..
__________________

rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,510
Sounds like the compressor is not running; just the fan. The total amps are too low for two compressors.
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:43 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Sounds like the compressor is not running; just the fan. The total amps are too low for two compressors.
X2

30 amp minimum with two a/c's goin
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Maybe to clarify, the 10-12 amps was when just the main AC was running and the second one off? If this is the case was there a difference when you had the quick cool vent open vs. running through the vents and distributing through the camper? If so you might want to check the ductwork and even how the AC is sealed up from the inside.

I have never checked the load when just the AC was running but could 10-12 be correct with nothing else but a single AC on (maybe not startup, but running)?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 06:57 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Maybe to clarify, the 10-12 amps was when just the main AC was running and the second one off? If this is the case was there a difference when you had the quick cool vent open vs. running through the vents and distributing through the camper? If so you might want to check the ductwork and even how the AC is sealed up from the inside.

I have never checked the load when just the AC was running but could 10-12 be correct with nothing else but a single AC on (maybe not startup, but running)?
One a/c and converter will most likely be around 12-15 amps yes.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
noticed on the progressive remote display when only running the main a/c shows about 10-12 amps draw .
So now we need clarification from the OP....it could be bad sealing of the vents. Had the same problem with last camper and with a couple dollars for aluminum tape and my time the AC worked beautifully.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
keven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 122
We the same problem with our Rockwood a/c. It ended up being the a/c had a clog which took out the compressor. FR replaced the entire a/c unit didn't even try to fix it.
keven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:55 PM   #8
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:24 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..
That is more like it with two ACs running.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:50 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..

Sounds like a trip to the dealer is in order. Perhaps the main A/C unit is low on refrigerant as the amps says that the compressor is running but output isn't cold.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:12 PM   #11
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post

Sounds like a trip to the dealer is in order. Perhaps the main A/C unit is low on refrigerant as the amps says that the compressor is running but output isn't cold.

Dave
I think your right. Will contact dealer this week. Wouldn't think a brand new unit would be low on Freon but maybe was never charged up properly.
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:11 AM   #12
AKA: 'tiredTeacher
 
awellis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Sounds like a trip to the dealer is in order.
LOL! He's in Texas, the dealer is in Ohio.
Rockport, keep us posted on how RVW handles this, please.

Wright
__________________
Wright and Penny
(with Fitz and Lizzie, the camping kitties)
Richmond, Va.
2010 Tundra 4X4 5.7L V8
2014 Rockwood 2604WS
Life is a cruel teacher. She gives the test first; the lesson then follows.
awellis3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:38 AM   #13
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Update: Contacted RVW this morning, they said warranty is with Coleman the A/C manufacturer, and they would locate a warranty shop for me. I happen to have a good rv repair shop close to me that I have used in the past and can use them, will be taking in this week to check the ac.. RVW said they would follow up in a week to make sure I was taken care of..

Will update once I find out what the problem is, in case anyone else is having similar issues.
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:40 AM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
Update: Contacted RVW this morning, they said warranty is with Coleman the A/C manufacturer, and they would locate a warranty shop for me. I happen to have a good rv repair shop close to me that I have used in the past and can use them, will be taking in this week to check the ac.. RVW said they would follow up in a week to make sure I was taken care of..

Will update once I find out what the problem is, in case anyone else is having similar issues.
Hopefully everything goes smooth!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:47 AM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by awellis3 View Post
LOL! He's in Texas, the dealer is in Ohio.
Rockport, keep us posted on how RVW handles this, please.

Wright
They deal with this kind of situation all the time and from most accounts, satisfactorily.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 01:37 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Nottingham, Md
Posts: 10
I know you have already set up a trip to the repair shop but I'm just wondering...You said the air didn't "feel" as cool but did you take a temperature reading with a thermometer? You should have a 18 to 20 degree difference between your return air temp and the supply temp closest to the unit.
trainwreck68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 04:43 PM   #17
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Update: repair shop called today, said he has a brand new unit coming from Coleman. Should have new ac on by first of next week. I will get details of what was bad when I pick up, but was told by owner of repair shop that Coleman is very good to work with.

So I wasn't losing my mind after all. Just don't ask my wife that question.
__________________

rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


×