Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2011, 04:54 PM   #1

Travel Trailer Length

Hello, Newbie here with first rookie question. We are coming from a small class c and looking seriously at the longer (28-34) Rockwoods. Several of my friends are warning me about the difficulty traveling with such length.
Years ago we pulled a 32' 5th wheel. I would appreciate any comments on handling the big stuff. Thanks, Bill
rancherwillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:09 PM   #2

Remember, coming from a MH to a TT you will find tons more interior room in the TT for a given length. Personally I would not again consider pulling a TT longer than about 25 feet. Just too much sway unless you can find a really long wheel base TV to handle it. I am always reminded of the picture of the tail wagging the dog.
donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:46 PM   #3
Site Team

a lot has to do with how you're going to use the trailer and what you'll be towing with.
if you want to "camp", instead of "RVing", a shorter trailer is a good idea since camping usually means in state/national parks that have smaller sites and you're taking shorter trips.
if you plan on RVing or full-timing, a larger trailer will be more suitable, since you'll primarily stay in RV parks/resorts and be living in them more. these places will have pull-thru sites and be longer for bigger rigs.

and having an adequate tow vehicle is a huge factor. if you've had experience with a 5th wheel, a bigger TT shouldn't be that hard for you to handle. but you won't have the high ceiling that the 5th wheels have, with a TT.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:54 PM   #4