Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2017, 05:07 PM   #1

TV wall mount location?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the FR forum. I need info on where to find the tv wall mount backing plate behind the wall in the bedroom of my 2015 8299bs. i noticed a sticker on the wall marked "TV BACKER". Does anyone know the size of the "TV BACKER" plate thats behind the wall and its exact location? I have an existing wall bracket that i would like to mount but not sure where to drill the holes.Thanks.
ICU99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 05:51 PM   #2

The wall plates are not always behind the sticker. You can pull the cable and electric plates and feel around with a bent coat hanger. My previous trailer was off by about 10". Make sure if the backer wall is shared with a bathroom, you don't drill into the black tank stand pipe.
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 05:56 PM   #3

Thanks. Will try the coat hanger.
Old 04-25-2017, 06:00 PM   #4

take some magnets and move them around until you can see the shape of the plate. If I remember correctly it is about 12x12. Not very thick steel. Did mine last year started with a 1/8 inch drill and once the hole for the mounting plate is through I made the hole larger for the screws I used. As memory serves me I tape the drill at 3/4 inch deep, so that I would not go through the wall. If you need mounting plates that match the outside bracket, get them here: https://shop.ramco-eng.com/collectio...-mounts/ms1114
bkool2323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 06:16 PM   #5
World Wide Wanderer

Electronic stud finder might to do the job. I had one RV where they 'forgot' to install the plate. I just put a piece of plywood across a couple of studs, painted it to match then installed the TV mount on it.

Aaron

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along