Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-02-2022, 10:50 AM   #1

Upgrades to the Rockwood 190W factory solar package

This is a question for those who opted for the Rockwood / GoPower 190W solar package that was included on many MY2021 units:

The roof-mounted GoPower solar panel included a junction box to add a second panel to the system. Obviously, GoPower would like you to use their expansion pack, but I'm wondering who has added a panel from another manufacturer?

I am not an expert in this area, but I understand that the voltage / amperage should match or come pretty close to the original 190W panel.

Has anyone found a panel with comparable specs?
Old 03-02-2022, 11:01 AM   #2

You could use a renogy 200 watt panel with very little loss.

Your gopower:
20.4v
9.3a

Renogy:
22.6v
8.85a

In series:
43v
8.85a

This would net you 380 watts of solar. So about a 10 watt loss due to the panels not being identical.
carguy4471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 05:45 PM   #3
NPR

I have the same set up you mention and I am considering this one.

https://www.amazon.com/RICH-SOLAR-Mo...6&sr=8-18&th=1

20.4V
9.8a
Old 03-02-2022, 05:49 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPR View Post
I have the same set up you mention and I am considering this one.

https://www.amazon.com/RICH-SOLAR-Mo...6&sr=8-18&th=1

20.4V
9.8a
This one would work as well and net you 379 watts total if in series.
Old 03-02-2022, 07:18 PM   #5

I added an HQST 190-watt solar panel, connected in parallel with the Go Power 190-watt solar panel. I also have two more HQST 190-watt panels in the basement to be installed this spring.
If I recall correctly, the Go Power 30-amp pwm solar charge controller cannot accept series-connected panels because of the controller's voltage limit.
I could be wrong though.