Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2017, 05:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 108
Windjammer satellite connection question

We have a 2016 Windjammer 3008w and have just purchased a tripod DISH satellite. We started to set up without much luck so called place we bought dish from and they recommended setting up direct to receiver first before going through trailer connections. Any insight from anyone on whether the inputs will actually works once we get satellite working with receiver? We had to get dealers to fix bedroom TV connections a couple times because it wasn't hooked up right so I'm rather pessimistic the satellite connectionspeed will work. Also do you connect coax to antenna output below TV to your receiver? There are two outputs, one TV and one antenna. Any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

dkkirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 10:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RusLwt001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Dacula GA
Posts: 467
I had difficulty my first time as well with the same setup. On the outside you should have two inputs TV and Satellite. Use the satellite connection and connect from the dish. Then on the inside there are two connections, TV and antenna. The antenna is for use specifically with the antenna. Connect the TV connection to the input of your satellite In on the receiver. Then you will need the RGB cables from the reciever to the television. Hopefully that should work. Then download a satellite finder app to your phone. There are some pretty good ones out there for free. Find the satellite, adjust your dish. Usually a two person job. One moves the dish the other tells you the signal strength. If you are dealing with trees, that makes it tough. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Russ
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3025W
Diamond Package
2016 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi 4x4
RusLwt001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 08:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 108
Thanks for the info. We're sending the portable tripod DISH back and waiting for the auto finder DISH to get here to try again. Could not find all the satellites with the tripod DISH. Once we get completely connected we will try to hook up through trailer connection using your recommendation. We did have inside connection going to the antenna connection and not the TV so we'll fix that. I'll let you know how it does once we get the new satellite antenna. Thanks so much.
dkkirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RusLwt001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Dacula GA
Posts: 467
Good luck. With the phone app not much of a problem finding the satellites.
__________________
Russ
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3025W
Diamond Package
2016 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi 4x4
RusLwt001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 108
Phone app worked well. The dish needed to find all three satellites. It would only find 119 and 129. Would never find 110. The app would find 119 like the directions said and pick up 129 as well, but 110 would not pick up when connected to receiver. We played with it for hours. We're getting ready to travel 3000 miles and don't have time to spend all day looking for satellites. Just decided it was easier to use of each with auto finder
dkkirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Florida East Coast
Posts: 293
I had a Windjammer 3008 and a Tailgater satellite antenna and a Dish 211 receiver system. I connected the wire from the antenna to the outside antenna connection on the driver side of the trailer. On the inside I connected the wire from the receiver to the satellite connection in the cabinet under the TV. The receiver then could talk to the antenna to direct it to acquire the available satellites once I told the receiver where it was located. Received available HD and SD channels.
Windjammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:44 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 108
Well as well thought because the dealer had messed with the wiring trying to fix bedroom TV connection issues, the inputs don't work. We had to fish the direct coax through the small side window in the slide. My husband has to check the coax wiring
dkkirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 05:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 108
Got the satellite working through the connection marked sat aux. Was just a wiring problem with the coax. Today where we are camped there is no satellite signal because of too many trees.
__________________

dkkirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lite, satellite, windjammer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


×