Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2014, 07:27 PM   #1

Surveyor 264 rks refrigerator question

Hello , I'm a total newbie to the forum and owning an rv. We just purchased a 2015 Surveyor 264 rks , getting ready to take it on its maiden voyage. With the stacks of owners manuals , I haven't found the answer to my question about the refrigerator. Mine is dual (gas/electric) it only has two buttons on the controller on/off & gas and two lights , "auto" & "check" , but no light to tell me if it really is running on gas. How do I tell without waiting 2or3 hours only to find a hot refrigerator. Thanks

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
2015 Forest River Surveyor 264 rks
Tooljunke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 07:56 PM   #2

Put your ear close to the exterior fridge grill or pop it off.
Ours sounds like a tiny rocket when on gas.
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:18 PM   #3

Thank You

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Old 08-27-2014, 08:57 PM   #4

Just a little tip that I do on my SP260, about 12 hours before I want to turn the fridge on I pack it and the freezer full of ice packs. When the fridge is turned on its all ready down to temp and doesn't have to work at it.
Buck1032 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:06 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

If the "check" light is on then it's not running.

These fridges need at least a full 6 hours to cool down.

TURBS

"SABRE OWNERS UNITED"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:22 PM   #6

Thanks , I'll have to try that. And thanks about the check light info.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Old 08-28-2014, 11:46 AM   #7