Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-06-2010, 12:18 AM   #1

Sv-305?

Hi all!

Just found this forum as I sit up late waiting for tomorrow afternoon when I hopefully will take delivery of a 2011 SV-305. I am new to TTs and my camping experience has always been in tents at best (sometimes not that nice). Before I sign on the dotted line, I am hoping for comments, suggestions, etc... My concern so far (other than the financing term ) is Do I have enough truck for pulling it? I have a 2000 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab 5.9L, 4x4 w/ tow package. The dealer (who by the way is celebrating their 51st year in business) is installing what is supposed to be a really nice equalizer hitch, sway control, and brake controller (I know nothing about these other than they are needed). The dealer (owner's son) claims that I will not have any towing issues, but I am hoping for some opinions. I tried the changing gears calculator, but I don't think I put the numbers in the right places (acronyms get confusing), but it looks like I will be maxed out or close to it. What do you all think? I haven't payed for anything yet other than the hitch package and not signed anything yet. I really like the camper, but I don't want to get anything unsafe w/ my tow set up.

Thanks.
Pilotdaddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:48 AM   #2

Welcome to FRF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotdaddy1 View Post
Do I have enough truck for pulling it? I have a 2000 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab 5.9L, 4x4 w/ tow package.
Your truck will be fine.

Quote:
The dealer (who by the way is celebrating their 51st year in business) is installing what is supposed to be a really nice equalizer hitch, sway control, and brake controller (I know nothing about these other than they are needed). The dealer (owner's son) claims that I will not have any towing issues.