RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 11-24-2019, 01:43 PM   #1
Trailer Park Supervisor

Motorhome classes: Who came up with this nonsensical class naming??

I'm new to the RV world, one year now as a TT owner. I like continuing to learn about all RVs, not just TTs. So as I continue to learn about motorhomes, I have to ask, who came up with Class A, Class B, and Class C, and what comprises each?

OK, I get Class A. The big buses. The big daddy of the motorhome world. Easy. But here's where it gets weird. Class B should be the next smaller size down. The midsize/built on a truck frame. Finally Class C SHOULD be the smallest, the conversion van class.

What the heck happened that the RV world decided to go counter-intuitive, and make no sense????

Does anyone know enough about Motorhome history to know what made this weird?? I know what a class B and class C are now, but the class nomenclature still irritates me.
Old 11-24-2019, 03:06 PM   #2

Read here and some of it will be explained

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...me_(campervan)

If you go far enough back in history you'll find that "Van Conversions" often didn't include the extended frames and grafting of travel trailer bodies to them. They also weren't built with toilets and kitchens, the items that gave them the "home" designation. A Class B was purpose built to be a "motorhome" but used a basic van chassis.

Today the "classifications" are pretty much codified in "regulations" so the government knows how to regulate/tax them.

Here's some more reading that might help explain:

https://mobilerving.com/blog/underst...d-c-motorhomes

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 07:26 PM   #3
Trailer Park Supervisor