RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 06:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Red face RV park cable issues

Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:58 PM   #2
CampingQueen
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 199
First, welcome to the forum! If you post your exact model of RV it might help get a more specific answer from someone who has your model or close to it.

The cable problem may be that it isn't wired completely or correctly from the factory - I've seen other posts here with folks having that issue. Also, to state the obvious, there is sometimes two connections on the outside of the camper - be sure you are using the one for 'cable' input and not an output jack.

As far as the furnace - it's not uncommon for them to smoke a little bit when you first run the furnace as it burns the oils and 'newness' off from the original manufacture. You'll smell a burning smell at first, but should not happen after the first few cycles of the furnace.

Enjoy your new camper!
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V-lite 30 WTBS
2011 Ford Expedition
4 kids and a hubby & never enough time to camp!
2011: 17 nights 2012: 26 nights 2013: 46 2014: 20 2015: 16
arlee453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:03 PM   #3
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williston, Florida
Posts: 317
For cable TV the switch on the antenna amplifier faceplate must be off, or popped out, and the LED light must be out.

This switch does double duty, when on do depressed it supplies power to the amplifier in the antenna head, and selects the antenna feed. When off it switches to the cable feed and shuts the power off to the amplifier.
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy Schnoodle & Bucky (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
New Member
 
burati1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
For cable TV the switch on the antenna amplifier faceplate must be off, or popped out, and the LED light must be out.

This switch does double duty, when on do depressed it supplies power to the amplifier in the antenna head, and selects the antenna feed. When off it switches to the cable feed and shuts the power off to the amplifier.
This. I had a similar issue and thought that I was having a stroke as it frustrated me so.
__________________
Coachmen Freedom Express 292BHDS
San Antonio, Texas by way of Nebraska
burati1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #5
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 23,820
the dealer should have advised you about your two issues, during your PDI.

as was said, you probably have the antenna booster button on(green light next to black button) and the furnace needs to be run, with windows open, for an hour or tow, to burn off oils from the factory.

and to echo others, you should always post year, make and model of RV you have.
most of us have it listed in our signature line.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:45 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Terier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex1526 View Post
Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
Hi and welcome to the board! May I ask what campground you are staying at in Temecula? I'm looking for a new place for an upcoming trip.

__________________
Great choice for "Living within my means" and camping for one...

2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Camping History: 45 Trips / 133 Nights / 3736 Miles
FRF Social Group: Campers of the West
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:33 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terier View Post

Hi and welcome to the board! May I ask what campground you are staying at in Temecula? I'm looking for a new place for an upcoming trip.

Hello terrier,
Hope you had a merry Xmas. I stayed in the Pechanga casino rV park. You can see it online. We had a great time. They have a park near by for kids and a great shuttle service from your coach to the front door of the casino. All you do is call and within 5 min. A shuttle is at you rv spot. Have fun!
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:39 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex1526 View Post
Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
My rV is a ForestRiver 2013 on a ford 2012 chassis. Floor plan 2691s. Thank you for all the great ideas. Happy new year
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Just wanted to thank everyone for your helpful suggestions. I was able solve both issues. Happy new year2013. Safe travels to all.
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:11 PM   #10
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,166
There's a major problem out there with CG TV cable systems, specifically if their cable company is Comcast. We have Comcast at home and have gone through this J. Michael Mouse scenario.

Not long after over-the-air signals went digital, so did Comcast. They chose, for obvious commercial reasons, not to configure their digital signal so that all the newly purchased digital TV sets would work seamlessly, but to choose a completely different digitisation method, not compatible with any digital TV receivers. That meant that everyone had to rent their converter boxes, one for each TV set in the house. These converters put out an analog signal on the old Channel 3 frequency. Since we've not bothered to update to wide-screen and still have the 4:3 CRT TVs, it's not a big deal. Comcast makes the viewer leave the TV on Ch.3 and then uses its proprietary converter to do the channel switching. Their remotes are also programmable to the type of TV you have and they control channel selection, volume and mute functions. You have to use the remote that came with your TV to change brightness, color balance, contrast, etc.

What this means for the CG owners is that they need a Comcast converter box for every site. I don't know if the Comcast box can be outside the RV, since it is range limited, but at least the camper would need a Comcast remote. The camper would also need to program the Comcast remote to his individual TV set model. The nightmarte for the CG owner would be in making sure the departing guest returns the remote (and maybe even the converter box) to the CG office when they leave.

Welcome to the commercial digital world!! We ran into this issue at a very up-market CG in SW Washington a few months ago. Management were beside themselves, apologising for the lack of cable service. Apparently, Comcast had just hit them with the change to the system in their area without properly explaining it.

Unfortunately, these various cable TV companies have local monopolies, and the only other alternatives are basic over-the-air, or one of the satellite-based outfits.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 12:16 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Kableguy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
As a tech in cable industry and a full timer I understand the frustration cable customers go thru when changes occur. Comcast was one of the first ISP's to go all digital across the spectrum eliminating the analog portion of their video services. They like the company I work for are requiring our analog video customers to have a digital adapter on every TV, unless they already have one of our converter boxes. This trend will continue across the country in order for cable companies to reclaim the analog spectrum for more digital services such as docsis 3.1 and more on demand programming. I hope this helps. Merry Christmas!
Kableguy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:03 AM   #12
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,166
As I understand it, Comcast's digital signal isn't even compatible with current models of digital TV sets, requiring everyone to have a set-top converter. I think this action was misuse of monopoly power, particularly if the cable company's service is the only way to get a TV signal. We live in an "RF black hole". With a roof-top antenna, we can only get one TV channel from the Seattle area stations (about 90 miles away), none of the Vancouver (80 miles) or Victoria (70 miles) channels or even the Bellingham station (50miles).

Even FM radio is messy. When I was a transit driver, I couldn't talk to our dispatcher once I came down the hill into our neoghborhood.

We're seriously considering giving up TV altogether, as we only watch the morning and evening news shows and PBS. We've already decided not to pursue a system for the RV.

Can anyone identify currently on-sale digital TVs whose tuners can handle the various cable companies' signals without a set-top converter?
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:19 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Kableguy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
It's not a compatibility issue with your TV and Comcast, rather its because Comcast no longer has unscrambled analog service. The required use of a digital adapter is a method used to prevent cable theft and free up much needed spectrum for other digital products. The days of open, unsecured cable is almost over. It's really not a " monopoly" rather a necessity. So any TV you have is fine, no need to buy another one.
Kableguy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:58 PM   #14
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,166
Sorry, cableguy, but cable service is a monopoly in Washington State. Only one cable company can service a particular area. For example, I couldn't say I don't like Comcast and would rather have Frontier. Of course, if you want to put up with the incredibly complicated programming of the two satellite providers, you do have an alternative.

I would like to get a TV set that could receive cable without having to use two different remote controls for each set, like we do now. I'd also like to put a digital TV in the RV that would work anywhere in the US and Canada without having to put up with the set-top box Mickey Mouse.

Are there any digital TV manufacturers whose built-in tuners can handle all the digital cable systems around the country? If the CG owners have to provide set-top boxes to every visitor and police the return of the boxes when a guest departs, it's a hell of an additional workload.

I would anticipate, when the full extent of this debacle becomes more widely known among RVers, the cable companies will catch a major cold and the satellite guys will be smiling. In our situation, we'll just quit watching TV while we're on the road. We sure don't need either the additional cost or the complication of satellite. Neighbors signed up with the Dish network. It was such a hassle trying to figure out, from the 45-page weekly guide what was on at any given time on our local stations, that they gave up after a month and had the system removed.

We can get most of the information and news we need from internet connection. The cable companies can go play with themselves!

We're stuck with Comcast as our TV provider at the house, and they have a fairly good price on a bundled TV, ISP and land-line phone (though it has more than doubled in price since we signed up three years ago). Breaking it into individual parts from different providers would probably end up costing more and having lower performance.

Definitely NOT a happy customer, and pissed off that I don't have a reasonably priced alternative.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:02 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,866
It is considered a monopoly only if you have no other choices.
If satellite, over the air, or no TV are available choices.

A monopoly is needing a car to go to work and having only 1 brand of gas and 1 gas station to buy it.

They broke up AT&T for example because it was a required service for emergency response and there was no other means (at the time) to provide it.
Not being able to call grandma would not have done it.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 12:10 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Turned off antenna booster and my park cable works too. This forum is awesome! I have a coaxial plug marked satellite/aux and another one with black backing plate on my xlr 380amp, does anyone know what the coaxial with black plate by living room tv could be for?
jb4xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 10:45 AM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4xx View Post
Turned off antenna booster and my park cable works too. This forum is awesome! I have a coaxial plug marked satellite/aux and another one with black backing plate on my xlr 380amp, does anyone know what the coaxial with black plate by living room tv could be for?
A photo might help.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 10:46 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Here's a photo of what our connection looks like in living room area of xlr 380amp
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1469547913659.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	115329  
jb4xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:40 PM   #19
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4xx View Post
Here's a photo of what our connection looks like in living room area of xlr 380amp
The top connection is "home run" wired to a similar connection on the outside wall of your camper. It is used to feed the satellite signal from a portable dish to the satellite receiver inside the camper.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Winegard wall plate rear.JPG
Views:	100
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	115381   Click image for larger version

Name:	CBL and SAT cover closed.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	115383   Click image for larger version

Name:	CBL and SAT inputs.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	211.2 KB
ID:	115384  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Winegard Wall PLate Amp.pdf (143.1 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.