Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2021, 06:29 AM   #1

12 volt refrigerators in the 235 roo

Hello all, I'm a newbie to this and have a question about the 12 volt refrigerators on the 235 roo. How long can I run off grid with these. I have the solar panels. Also what ae the best batteries for this? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks All Stay safe.
321Wayneroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 07:04 AM   #2
Georgia Rally Coordinator

Welcome to the forum. You should ask this question under the sub forum for Roo campers. You will get better response and there are a lot of knowledgeable for here to help. Later RJD
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing.(sold) (sold) 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-40 days 2023 5 days
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 09:36 AM   #3

Our Spirit 1943RB came with a 12v Furrion, 100 w panel on the roof, 10amp PMW controller, then I had the batteries set up as 2-6v GC2 deep cycle (not marine deep cycle) batteries.

It worked well in June when at a site that had full sun after about 10 am. During the 4 night stay we didn’t need to pull out the generator but had we not planned to head home the 5th day we would have. Our other electrical use was limited, expect 7 or so ours a night of my CPAP.

I know the 100w panel will not be enough for long time use in a shaded site or overcast day with out the use of the generator, so am in the planning/deciding stage of expanding the array and changing out to a MPPT controller. I’ll end up with 3-400w on the roof, may pull the existing panel off and use it as a portable with the existing controller. The first step I did this summer, installing a Victron BMV 712 battery monitor which I would highly recommend.
Rolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 04:00 PM   #4