Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2021, 10:22 AM   #1

2017 Roo 233s Routine Maintenance

Hello,

Just purchased a 2017 Roo 233s seemingly pretty lightly used by previous owner. It was still winterized when we purchased it, so I have dewinterized it and sanitized the fresh water system. I checked the tire pressures. Took it for a short weekend trip recently about 60 miles round trip. We are planning a longer trip in about a month, about 500 miles round trip.

Everything seems to be in pretty good shape. I was thinking of taking it to an RV service center to have it looked at and have routine maintenance done prior to taking such a trip. Does anyone know where I can find a good resource for what I might expect to need to be done? Is it even worth doing? I am new to RVing, but have always done most of my own auto maintenance. I don't want to run into any issues on the road or while camping, but I don't want to be scammed by having them do things that don't need to be done. I could probably manage to do it myself if its simple enough and doesn't involve much plumbing or electronics.

Sorry if this is a dumb question. Thanks in advance.

Aonyx
Aonyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 11:22 AM   #2

you don't really need to do anything special for such a trip unless your tires are >5 years old (tires age out before they will wear out).. there is a date code on the tire that will tell you when the tire was manufactured. If they are >5 years, i would consider replacing them. When i replaced mine, i did change from a Load C to a load D tires. i get new tires about every 5 years. make sure you know how to change a tire - and have a jack that is capable of lifting the camper.

no matter the length of trip - i have extra light bulbs for the brake/turn signals.