Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-11-2012, 02:30 PM   #1

Unhappy wfco converter problem

So I am new to RV'n a bought a 2006 rockwood roo 19. First of I took some bad advice and hooked up the RV to 240v (I know, bad idea). What I need is a solution. I have checked power with it connected to 120v and I have power to Air conditioning, outlets and microwave. No lights or fans. I checked the connections at the lights and have little voltage readout. Is there an easy way to check the converter with a multimeter.

Thanks for any help

feeling dumb in MT
papajeans roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 03:08 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Ouch.

Its good that you still have any converter at all and that its still seems to be running the AC devices like the micro, air and outlets.

I assume your Roo has a WFCO 8955 converter. Here's the manual for you. In answer to your question about checking the converter, pages 7 and 8 explain how to check the converter with a multimeter. Electrical diagnosis can be tricky so good luck and let us know how this turns out.

But before you do that, the lights and fans are 12volt so the simplest thing to check first is that system:

Check the fuses in the converter (right side of converter panel when you open it).

Battery - What is the charge you measure with your multimeter?

Check the inline fuse going from the positive battery terminal to the converter itself (usually found under the trailer on the street side).

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 04:49 PM   #3

Oh man I was stressing pretty good. I did get the battery out and had it tested and it was bad. I put a battery in that I knew was good and everything seems to be working now. I might have dodged a bullet. I need to get a manual for the whole trailer before I try any more things.

Thank you for the info.