RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2019, 08:47 AM   #81
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,990
We need to figure out how to have a R/V electrical 101 class.

This thread has a LOT of misinformation in it.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=98
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 09:15 AM   #82
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
We need to figure out how to have a R/V electrical 101 class.

This thread has a LOT of misinformation in it.
X 10!!!
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 09:19 AM   #83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
We need to figure out how to have a R/V electrical 101 class.

This thread has a LOT of misinformation in it.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 09:26 AM   #84
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,179
true, and there are actually quite a few videos online(youtube especially) where any RVr can get a quick education in RV electrical...

the issue, though, is that most folks don't readily think of just going to look at a video for something they themselves don't know that they need to 'know'... otherwise, they just listen to what many of the others chime in with on these forums.

All of us are well meaning, and yes, some are more experienced in many things to do with the average RV, especially electrical, and sometimes that leads to comments that are not intentional 'wrong', but that maybe aren't worded properly so that those reading it can understand fully what is being 'said', or 'meant to be said'.

Sure, there are misconceptions about the difference between RV 30amp and RV50amp electrical service, as most folks who own a 30amp rv have no real need to know since they don't actually 'use' a 50amp outlet. It sure is simple to think that because the terminology between the two is so similar that it is only 20amps difference, and that's why the long discussions to 'explain' why it's not.

Regardless of whether some of us need initial education on basic electrical, or whether some of us like to 'tinker' with 'all things electrical', which makes us feel special, these forums give everyone a great starting point to ask the question, get some answers, and even get a little 'heated' by some of the responses when they don't line up with our own views, or understanding. Some do this because we're fearful that others will suddenly go out and electrocute themselves, or plug in and fry the RV, etc., but the reality is that some of those 'fears' rarely, if ever, happen...but the fear still drives it.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 12:52 PM   #85
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 33
Next time you go to an outing ask around to see if anyone knows about electrical modifications. Itís not rocket science. I did my 30 amp 80 ft run underground in conduit for less than $75. It will really be worth it!
brewnut44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 12:59 PM   #86
Senior Member
 
Villagerjjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 620
To all the respondents who said they did the wiring themselves: I have not seen any indication of the inclusion of one key component that is is required by code. Can you tell me what it is?
Villagerjjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 01:10 PM   #87
Senior Member
 
rlh1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboots View Post
A 120v 30Amp RV plug will not go into a 240v 30Amp outlet. Just sayin...
I hear ya there... but somehow it has been done. I guess they had a hammer on their tool belt!
__________________
2018 Forest River Rockwood Roo
24WS

2019 Ford SD F-350 SRW Lariat
Tow & Gooseneck Prep
FX4 Off Road (4X4)
rlh1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 01:14 PM   #88
Senior Member
 
rlh1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villagerjjm View Post
To all the respondents who said they did the wiring themselves: I have not seen any indication of the inclusion of one key component that is is required by code. Can you tell me what it is?
Most of us that do our own work have never pulled a permit, had an inspection or sign off on the work done. Most are licensed from the school of hard knocks and on the job must learn class. Usually until something burns down or sales inspection spots wires hanging or wrong wiring in a obvious code violation we go on.
__________________
2018 Forest River Rockwood Roo
24WS

2019 Ford SD F-350 SRW Lariat
Tow & Gooseneck Prep
FX4 Off Road (4X4)
rlh1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:05 PM   #89
Junior Member
 
markjamestx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 26
We wired our RV outlet sub-panel box on the side of the garage about a year ago. A piece of advice, if you are going to wire it do the 50 Amp because you may want to upgrade to a bigger trailer in the future. Use an 50-30 adapter until you buy that new camper.
markjamestx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:32 PM   #90
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,804
If installing a sub panel why not just install both 50 and 30 amp receptacles. Even if one upgrades RV later you'll still have a 30 amp outlet for a guest.

I hate adapters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjamestx View Post
We wired our RV outlet sub-panel box on the side of the garage about a year ago. A piece of advice, if you are going to wire it do the 50 Amp because you may want to upgrade to a bigger trailer in the future. Use an 50-30 adapter until you buy that new camper.
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will."

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:42 PM   #91
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,502
I have a 30a Marine/RV outlet on the side of my house next to the driveway that allows me to use the trailer's shorepower cord easily. Wired via a separate 30a breaker. Since this only gets used a couple of times a year I fabricated a 20a outlet box for yard tools, air compressor, etc that's nearly always plugged in.

-- Chuck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5235[1].jpg
Views:	42
Size:	369.3 KB
ID:	213578  
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:55 PM   #92
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck_S View Post
I have a 30a Marine/RV outlet on the side of my house next to the driveway that allows me to use the trailer's shorepower cord easily. Wired via a separate 30a breaker. Since this only gets used a couple of times a year I fabricated a 20a outlet box for yard tools, air compressor, etc that's nearly always plugged in.

-- Chuck
I am sure you are not having problems, but to me, that can't possibly be to code.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:04 PM   #93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: California
Posts: 7,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanMike View Post
If installing a sub panel why not just install both 50 and 30 amp receptacles. Even if one upgrades RV later you'll still have a 30 amp outlet for a guest.

I hate adapters.
Since I have a 30A trailer, I just swapped out the 50A RV outlet for a 50A welder outlet for my MIG welder, TIG welder and plasma cutter. My box has 50A, 30A and 20A. I could actually put the RV 50A outlet in there as well...plenty of room.
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:41 PM   #94
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
I am sure you are not having problems, but to me, that can't possibly be to code.
The grey box is an extension cord. Very short.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:47 PM   #95
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villagerjjm View Post
To all the respondents who said they did the wiring themselves: I have not seen any indication of the inclusion of one key component that is is required by code. Can you tell me what it is?
Give $295 to the county?
__________________
2006 FR Salem 32SRV-LE 5th Wheel Toy-Hauler
2006 F250 Superduty 6.0 Lariat 4x4 Off Road
Slow Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:01 PM   #96
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanMike View Post
...why not just install both 50 and 30 amp receptacles...
I hate adapters.
well, if you think about it, the outlet itself is an adapter ... sorry : )
__________________

The Turners...
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 compact diesel 100k+miles since '14... US, Alaska, Canada...
AND a '14 Gulfstream Amerlite
AND a '07 ForestRIver Rockwood : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:25 PM   #97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
I Have mine hook-up to 20 amp GFCI and run everything I need including the AC without any problems. Of course Iím not living in it, but I do keep it heated to 50 degrees over the winter.
dpb.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:54 PM   #98
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 609
I installed a 50/30/20 Ampere pedestal, roughly 150' from the feed, 100' of which underground. PITA to dig 100' by hand, but worth it. Also installed a water feed at the same time.
johnbryanpeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 07:18 PM   #99
Senior Member
 
Freetyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 289
Pretty simple dyi. I had 100 A service to the garage already. Camper parked along side. Box , breaker, and 35' of 10 G wire $68. Main reason was to be able to run everything as if at a CG.
Freetyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 07:19 PM   #100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,804
When I installed mine my neighbor had rented a "ditch witch" to install lawn sprinklers. He let me use it while he was going to get more pipe.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbryanpeters View Post
I installed a 50/30/20 Ampere pedestal, roughly 150' from the feed, 100' of which underground. PITA to dig 100' by hand, but worth it. Also installed a water feed at the same time.
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will."

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.