Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2010, 06:24 PM   #1

5th wheel towing question

I recently purchased 2005 8243 S with a Pop-up gooseneck adapter (9inch offset). I love the trailer. I am towing it with a 2004 F250 super duty king ranch 4 door 4WD short bed.
I am feeling a push/pull from the trailer going down the highway. Watching it in the mirror it looks like the trailer is bouncing up and down.
I am new to 5th wheels but have pulled goosenecks thousands of miles.
Is this a loading problem?
Any advice will be appreciated.

Bill
Blackhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:31 PM   #2

Is the trailer level with your truck? Sounds to me like the truck (4x4) may be a scosh high causing the 5er to nose up making it "lighter". Just a thought.

and welcome to FRF

greg
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 07:44 PM   #3

thanks Greg
Ok, here is another part of the story.
When I bought it the dealership installed a regular long bed adapter. It had less than 5 inches of vertical bed clearance and allowed me to "pinch" the cab with the front corner (not jackknife) of the trailer in a turn.

After some ....... invigorating conversation the dealership agreed to install the correct short bed hitch. Now there is 8-9 inches of clearance and it does ride slightly nose high. The push/pull is not as bad as before but I can still feel some.
Is that just how they pull? I am used to horse and stock trailers that behave as if they are not even there.

Bill
Old 02-15-2010, 10:17 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus