Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-26-2019, 04:51 PM   #1
Hunt, Fish, Camp, Repeat

Battery/Converter Question

I'm a software guy by trade so I know enough to admit I don't understand a lot about electricity. Anyway, our 2015 Sandpiper 372LOK has a converter. The manual basically say only that which is next to useless. I have to get two new batteries to replace the cheap interstate batteries the unit came with. In reviewing these many of them tell you the float. For example, the ones I'm looking at say 14.4-14.7. Others are in the 13.2-13.4 range. I'm not sure what float I need the battery at to ensure proper charging and no issues with premature death (or course we will ensure we have no parasitic draws on power). For anybody who knows how the converters work, is there a way I can tell the converter will work optimally with a specific battery? Do converters adjust their charge levels based on the battery (magically somehow)?

I'm asking because the batteries I'm looking at aren't cheap and I want to make sure I've done all my homework before pulling to trigger. Thanks in advance.

--Tony
IA-Outdoors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 08:10 PM   #2

i understand your concerns. yes there are converters that can be programmed to match the charge profile of the specific battery. and then there are converters where no adjustments are possible. please provide the make / model of you converter and the make / model of the batteries you are thinking about and somebody will reply how to optimize the combination. all we know now is generic converter charging generic batteries.
Old 06-27-2019, 07:51 AM   #3
Hunt, Fish, Camp, Repeat

Yeah, sorry about that. So wrapped in up the frustration that I didn't manage to give you the two most important things. So the power converter is a World Friendship-Arterra WF-9865 - 65A.