Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2021, 10:26 AM   #1

Battery/Power Question

Checked on my 2020 Sandpiper - I figured the battery was down, even with the master switch off, and it was. Backed my truck up to it and connected the cable in the bed. I then turned the master switch on.

The marker lights were on, but even after running the truck for a while nothing else worked- no interior lights, jacks, etc. I didn’t connect to shore power but will when I go back in a couple days.

Does that sound like the battery went bad or something else? It was working perfectly when I parked it there about 45 days ago, so the only change is the battery probably running down.
1 wife, 1 son, & 1 cat
Volunteer Firefighter/EMT
Asst. Scoutmaster (BSA)
archham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 10:39 AM   #2
Kanadian Kamper

I’m no trailer expert, but here’s my thought based on what I read…..

For whatever reason, I suspect your trailer battery is dead for all purposes.
However, you stated that after you hooked up the trailer to your truck, the clearance lights worked…..but nothing 12 volt “house-wise” in the trailer.

Is it possible that when hooked up to the truck, it only powers clearance lights (and probably running and brake lights) just like any trailer would get it’s power for exterior vehicle lights? That would work for a landscape or cargo trailer.

Dead house battery won’t do anything for you until you plug in shore power for the other things you mention, and then the converter will be powering inside stuff.

Sound reasonable?

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD, nicely modified and carried by a 2017 Ford E450 Sport
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count, pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 10:41 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus