Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2008, 12:45 PM   #1

Cover worth it?

I am about to close on a deal for a Rockwood 8313SS. I wonder if an RV cover is really worth it. It costs $499.00. I will have to park an RV in storage outdoors when I do not use it. Is the cover really protective of damage? Is it easy to get on and off? Thanks for you help....I am a rookie about to buy his first RV.
neurorv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 06:29 PM   #2

Hello! We have a 2008 831krss. My second TT and we have purchased the cover for it, Figuring it would be a great idea to get us thru the off season in CT. My opinions on the cover- Definatly expensive, Kinda difficult to get it on the first time. My suggestion would be to bring it onto the roof of the Trailer and unfold it there and drape it over the sides. That made it much easier. Yes it keeps it clean and keeps most of the unnessacry moisture off the roof and what not. Here`s the bad now..(at least what I found).. Had to remove it a couple of weeks ago. I have been battleing an ongoing rodent problem. As far as I can tell..the mice were crawling up the straps and cover to gain access into the trailer. I have gone thru repeated attempt of cleaning them out and once their gone...they come again. Since my last cleanout with the cover off...I have been rodent free. Sooooo my cover is going to remain off for the rest of the season. This however..had no affect with the last TT and the cover. It was parked at a different location in the off season so this time I am gathering I put it in a high traffic area for mice.

That would be my opinion anyhow...Let`s hear what everyone else says!!

Joel
cmprguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:12 AM   #3