Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2020, 09:53 AM   #1

KW1 water filter between trips

Hi...I'm a rookie RV'er in a new MicroLite. I installed a new KW1 on our maiden voyage a few weeks ago. Is it ok to let the water filter sit between uses/trips, or do I need to remove filter to dry it? Do I need to sanitize it some how? ...I'm simply lost when it comes to water and plumbing...

Thanks for any advice...
Cabe16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:55 AM   #2

Leave the water in. I drain all water in the fall. City water so far in 8 years has not gotten funky sitting for a couple weeks/months.
Old 07-05-2020, 10:38 AM   #3

Read the instructions with your filter. Some say to remove, backflush, and dry, some say to put it in a baggy in the refrigerator.
And it depends on how often it will be used and how long it will be stored.
We experimented with about every filtering system there was, from cheap single filters to triple filter systems.
We found all filters can grow bacteria if not maintained correctly. It got to be where filter maintenance was very time consuming and expensive. They can also cause as many health problems as they prevent.
One day we decided it just wasn't worth it and chucked the whole shooting match. We haven't used any filter for over 6 years and are much happier. We use mainly bottled water for drinking and coffee. Sanitize the fresh tank about twice a year, and don't put any water in our tank that isn't chlorinated.
No problems. In fact, I think we get intestinal problems less frequently
Reese Fifth Airborne Sidewinder
NMWildcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 11:05 AM   #4