Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2016, 03:21 PM   #1

Newbie looking for help picking a Travel Trailer

I'm completely new to the RV game and looking to jump in. I might be looking to use mine a little differently than what is typical. I don't really want to spend a lot of time in it outside of sleeping. My plan is to take it to bicycling events and use it as sort of a base camp. A place to come back to after the ride and shower, then likely leave again and come back when its near time for bed. Like a hotel room on wheels essentially.

95% of the time, it will just be me and my girlfriend using the trailer in this fashion. Occasionally, we might have a couple of riders crash on our couch or dinette, but the majority of the time will be only us. I don't want to spend too much, nor too little on my first one, but I want to try and get one that I won't regret purchasing.

I have a 2014 Toyota Tundra 5.7 that I will be towing the trailer with. It has a towing capacity of 10,000 lbs. I'd ideally like to stay well under that, say maybe a dry weight of 5,000 lbs. for the trailer for example.

Based on that, my thought is I don't really need a big or expensive trailer to start with. I thought a 26 foot one without slides would likely handle my needs. The one I have my eye on is a 2017 Wildwood X-Lite 241QBXL.

I've got what I feel a good price negotiated on it ($16,995) and financing in place. The only thing that is stopping me is that 95% of the people I ask say I should only get a trailer that has a slide out. Despite the fact that every thing I read about problems with a trailer seems to be with the slide outs.

Anyone have any good advice for my situation?
Jarrett. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 03:32 PM   #2
Site Team