RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2014, 05:21 PM   #2441
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 15,215
Its new legs are 12 feet making it about 14' 2" at the center.


Sent (I think)
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 108; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 06:16 PM   #2442
Senior Member
 
dj3spots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 547
Thanks Mr. Dan.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
dj3spots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 11:33 PM   #2443
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
And today, I mounted my water pressure regular inside of my wet bay with bungees using an idea someone else used for hanging a box of gloves - taking a length of bungee and making 2 loops on either side:

Attachment 66991

Today I cut down my water hose that I dedicate to my regulator. Before it was way too long and it made my water bay messy. Now it's snazzy and short and it'll look all tidy! Plus now I have a water hose for my antifreeze.

It's the little things, ya know?
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 01:02 AM   #2444
Moderator Emeritus
 
ColoradoRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKnight View Post
Not today, but Saturday. But saying it might make me feel less stupid.

I tore the steps off against my step daughters car. I got in a hurry, was running late and needed to run the camper to the dealership so they can finally install my window, went out, hooked up, dropped the clutch and took off. Go around the car and the whole thing stops.

I proved, always do a walk around even if it's sleeping. I left the steps down from when I winterized it. Then, in a four hours of sleep induced hurry made a dumb mistake.

The steps are destroyed, but the structure holding them is fine. I'll just need to straighten a couple of support braces. The car, rear bumper cover, the side skirt and the quarter panel are hurt.

So that's what I did to mine, and I feel no less stupid having said it. Do your walkarounds kids.
Oh no...sorry to hear that! I've been lucky..was just starting to drive off once and spotted in a side mirror my back steps were still down....phew.
__________________
Rick & Karen
(Retired USAF, MSgt)
Monument, Colorado
8-year Travel Trailer RVers
2013 Forest River Rockwood Ultra-Lite 2904SS
2014 Toyota Tundra Maxcrew SR-5 TRD 4x4 (with Firestone airbags in the rear)
ColoradoRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:48 PM   #2445
Senior Member
 
SeaHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Parkville, MD
Posts: 97
Well today I stopped at my Ford Dealer where I bought my truck and sure enough, there was a fuse in the glove box that had to be installed in order for my tow vehicle to charge my battery. Now my factory installed Tow set up will charge my TT battery while I'm under way and using the trailer lights.

Don't assume that since it is factory, that it is hooked up and working correctly....

But I have to ask this stupid dumb question..... why in the world would they not just put the fuse in from the factory??? Why would you leave this up to the the truck owner to figure out??? I've already had to tow the trailer when we bought it and I was assuming everything was fine....
__________________
2012 Lacrosse, 308RES.
2013 Ford F150, XLT, 4x4, Supercrew, Eco-Boost.
Lee, Dawn and "CoCo", the dog!
2015 Overnight Camping Days = 25, States Below:
SeaHarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 08:30 PM   #2446
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,907
They like to charge you to hook it up.

On my Traverse, for the trailer brake wiring, the owner's manual says:

The fuse for this circuit is installed
in the underhood electrical center,
but the wires are not connected.
They should be connected by your
dealer or a qualified service center.

It's a lie. In reality, all you need is the fuse.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 08:31 PM   #2447
Senior Member
 
SeaHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Parkville, MD
Posts: 97
Actually, today there was no charge. And yes, I was surprised.
__________________
2012 Lacrosse, 308RES.
2013 Ford F150, XLT, 4x4, Supercrew, Eco-Boost.
Lee, Dawn and "CoCo", the dog!
2015 Overnight Camping Days = 25, States Below:
SeaHarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:28 PM   #2448
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaHarley View Post
Actually, today there was no charge. And yes, I was surprised.
You already paid for it. Connecting that wire (if needed like the GM trucks) and fuse was supposed to be part of dealer prep.

Here is the Chevy/GMC procedure from the manual.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Installing Auxiliary 12-Volt Feed to Trailer.pdf (457.4 KB, 58 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:06 PM   #2449
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
I've never seen a gm or ford with the fuses installed on a new truck. I dont know why, but thats how it is.
Ive installed lots of fuses and controller pigtails. And on gm they use to be behind the seat by the jack or in the glove box, ford's usually in the glove box in a zip lock baggy by the owners manual
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:31 PM   #2450
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,907
Quote:
You already paid for it. Connecting that wire (if needed like the GM trucks) and fuse was supposed to be part of dealer prep.
If it's part of dealer prep, why would it need to be mentioned in the Owners Manual?
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:47 PM   #2451
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by MillerTime View Post
I've never seen a gm or ford with the fuses installed on a new truck. I dont know why, but thats how it is.
Ive installed lots of fuses and controller pigtails. And on gm they use to be behind the seat by the jack or in the glove box, ford's usually in the glove box in a zip lock baggy by the owners manual
All this talk- any idea if I have to do something for my Ram?
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:56 PM   #2452
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
All this talk- any idea if I have to do something for my Ram?
Get your new volt meter out and see if you have power on the pin on the right side of the notch for the plug on your 7round trailer plug, that should be +.

If no power there look in your owners manual. (Sorry don't know the details on dodges. I've mainly worked at gm dealers and now an auto group that also has a ford store that we do a lot of work for)
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:33 AM   #2453
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
If it's part of dealer prep, why would it need to be mentioned in the Owners Manual?
For Chevy it is definitely up to the owner to hook up the charge line AND the brake controller line... or pay the dealer to do it. This really doesn't make sense for these trucks when they all come from the factory with a tow package, and it has to take the factory more time to bundle up those wires and stow them under the hood instead of just sticking the ends in the proper locations when the fuse block is already open.
__________________
2008 FR Salem 26TBUD
2010 FR R-Pod 171 (2009-2015)
2010 Chevy Suburban
Honda EU3000is inverter-generator
techntrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:57 AM   #2454
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
If it's part of dealer prep, why would it need to be mentioned in the Owners Manual?
That is NOT from the owner's manual.
It is from the electrical manual of the dealer's maintenance set.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 09:03 AM   #2455
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,277
When I installed my primus #1, I just had to plug it into the pigtail end under my dash. I did get get another one with the truck in a bag for hooking up one without the plug in on it already. I guess to hard wire it if needed. But mines a 2004 before they started to cut corners to save what $3.00 bucks.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 09:17 AM   #2456
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by techntrek View Post
For Chevy it is definitely up to the owner to hook up the charge line AND the brake controller line... or pay the dealer to do it. This really doesn't make sense for these trucks when they all come from the factory with a tow package, and it has to take the factory more time to bundle up those wires and stow them under the hood instead of just sticking the ends in the proper locations when the fuse block is already open.
I have had it both ways,me hook it up or the dealer! I think it was my 05 GMC they (GM Parts) at dealership (Didn't) have the Fuse or the Nut to hook up the (Trailering Wires) under the Hood! Pitiful! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:08 AM   #2457
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
All this talk- any idea if I have to do something for my Ram?

When I "probed" my 7 way connector on my RAM with a test light, it was already "live".
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:44 AM   #2458
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5 View Post
When I "probed" my 7 way connector on my RAM with a test light, it was already "live".
You had an "on the ball" dealer!
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 11:04 AM   #2459
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
You had an "on the ball" dealer!

More than likely or it comes from Chrysler already done. I bought it used so, I don't know who did it. I know on my 2002 Silverado, I had to put in the 40 amp MAXI fuse.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 11:07 AM   #2460
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5 View Post
When I "probed" my 7 way connector on my RAM with a test light, it was already "live".

I'll test mine at lunch. MillerTime texted me some pics for how to do it and assured me that I won't die.

Otherwise, today's plan is to replace the lock nuts and u-bolts on my hitch. B&W sent them and new rubber feet free of charge.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camper

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.